Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew

My house smells a little like Thanksgiving.  Best. Smell. Ever.  So, I mentioned that I got a couple new cookbooks – well, I was flipping through the crockpot cookbook and I came across a recipe for Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew and I was intrigued. You would have stopped on that page, too!  The picture looked AMAZING, the ingredients list is both low and easy, and Thing 2 thought it was a great idea so I knew it was a go.  We LOVE sweet potatoes in this house – comfort food at its finest! – and I’m definitely all for stews that cook on their own when I’m watching football all Sunday long.   Hey, I got laundry accomplished so it’s not like I was a couch potato….waiting for sweet potatoes…. 🙂

I should state that this recipe says it makes 6 servings.  Maybe if you’re serving 6 football players!  I started in my 4-quart crockpot but, by the time I added the stewed tomatoes, it was ready to overflow.  So, the hubby did the heavy lifting for me and transferred it to the 6-quart crock pot and I finished off putting it together.  The bonus is…LEFTOVERS!  And, I’ve got a high mileage week coming up so I’m definitely going to need some good sources of lean protein and high carbs (thank you potatoes!) to get me through the week.  I don’t know which I want more – dinner now or lunch later in the week!

Bite-sized chunks of chicken breast, cubed Yukon Gold and sweet potatoes, carrots and tomatoes all married together in one delicious and light stew.  YUM!  Pull out your crockpot and get going! (yes, Erin, I am talking about you.) 🙂

Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces

2 medium sweet potatoes, cubed

2 medium Yukon Gold potatoes, cubed

1 can (28 oz) whole stewed tomatoes, undrained

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon celery seeds

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 cup fat-free low-sodium chicken broth

1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped (optional)

Combine all ingredients except basil in slow cooker.  Cover; cook on LOW 6-8 hours or on HIGH 3-4 hours.  Sprinkle with basil just before serving, if desired.

Calorie count (from My Fitness Pal): Calories 209; Fat 1.8g; Cholesterol 38.9mg; Sodium 408.3mg; Potassium 637.3mg; Carbohydrates 30.5g, dietary fiber 3.8g, sugars 11.5g; Protein 17.9g

Leave a Reply

