Chips Oh Boy! Cookies

Who doesn’t love chocolate chip cookies? Well, my uncle but I think he may be the only person. Seriously, I’m not sure what his problem is but for some reason, he doesn’t like chocolate. Crazy! Anyway, I’m a Toll House girl, myself. As a person, I love the flavor of the Toll House recipe … as a baker, I love the bar cookie recipe because, honestly, making regular chocolate chip cookies can take some time. But, sometimes it’s worth it to make a traditional chocolate chip cookie – like when you’re having a bonding moment with a family member or friend, you need to do something to occupy some time while you’re impatiently waiting for something else, or you find a new recipe that promises to be both delicious and light (for a cookie)! So, as soon as I saw this cookie recipe, I knew I was going to have to make some traditional cookies. I know, I know…my poor family…they have to put up with so much! πŸ˜‰

The recipe comes from my new cookbook, The New Abs Diet and promises a delicious cookie with only 150 calories each! I wondered if I could make it have less calories and sugar and have it still be delicious so I opted for some substitutions in the recipe. I used Domino Light sugar and brown sugar and I substituted an egg white for one of the eggs. The result? YUM! And, 18 calories less per cookie! That’s a win in my book! This recipe calls for chopped walnuts which, in my opinion, should be optional. Normally, I don’t like any kind of nut in a cookie unless it’s peanut butter cookies made with chunky peanut butter and chopped nuts (mmmm……) but I decided to try it in these cookies just to see. It calls for dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet or milk chocolate so I thought maybe the nuts would add an interesting depth and flavor to the cookie. It really does! These cookies are spectacular – even with the walnuts! Of course, I’m pretty sure they’d still be spectacular without the walnuts but, trust me, you should try it with. Decadent dark chocolate and chopped walnuts together in a sinfully delicious cookie – YUM! I’ve already had 3! Oh wait…maybe I shouldn’t have told you that.

Chips Oh Boy! cookies

1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/4 cups all-purpose unbleached flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar (or 6 tablespoons Domino Light blend)
3/4 cup packed brown sugar (or 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons Domino Brown Sugar blend)
2 eggs (I used one egg, 1 egg white)
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
12 ounces dark chocolate chips
3/4 cup chopped walnuts

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Coat baking sheets with cooking spray.

2. Mix the flours, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.

3. Beat the butter and sugars with a mixer on medium speed for about 2 minutes. Beat in the eggs, 1 at a time. Beat in the applesauce and vanilla. Add the flour mixture and mix until blended. Stir in the chocolate chips and the walnuts.

4. Drop rounded tablespoons of the dough onto the baking sheets, leaving about 2 inches between cookies. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on a wire rack.

Makes 36 cookies

Per cookie (original recipe): 150 calories; 2g Protein; 22g Carbohydrates; 7g Fat (3.5g saturated); 85mg Sodium; 1g Fiber

Per cookie (altered recipe): 132 calories; 2g Protein; 16.5g Carbohydrates; 7g Fat (2.6g saturated); 85mg Sodium; 1g Fiber

2 thoughts on “Chips Oh Boy! Cookies

Leave a Reply

