Fall Vegetable Curry

I decided to sleep in a little this morning before I got up for my run. Okay, honestly, I hit the snooze button until it got frustrated with me and just turned off and then I slept for 30 minutes more. Yes, I was tired. Okay, fine! I was feeling lazy. Sheesh, give a girl a break! Anyway, when I finally did get out of bed – 6:30 on a Saturday! – it was only 47 degrees. YES! (um, I should mention that I live in Florida!) I’m a northeastern girl at heart and I love, love, LOVE cool mornings! That’s the best thing about Fall … um, okay, second to football… oh, and I really love the colors, too! … and, as a runner, the cooler temperatures are a blessing. I’d so much rather run in 40 degree weather than 90 degree weather with 110% humidity. People ask me whether or not it hurts to breathe the cold air in but no, it doesn’t (to me, anyway) and I’d much rather suck in some fresh cool air than feel like I need to chew after I breathe. I’ve even run a half-marathon in DC while it snowed. So peaceful! Plus, there’s just something awesome about running more than a foot and not turning into a gigantic puddle of sweatiness. Of course, the likelihood of it snowing here in Florida is slim to none (hello, El Nino!) but I certainly appreciate the respite from the heat and the humidity.

Another great thing about Fall is vegetables and meals that warm you inside and out. I don’t know about you but we love curry and other Indian/Middle Eastern spices in this house. So, when I came across a recipe for a vegetable curry, I knew I had to save it for the perfect day. Today was that day! Seriously, it was all I could think about while I was running. Um, in case you didn’t know, thinking about food while you’re running is not the best thing to do. I was STARVING by the time I got home!! Actually, I do tend to plan meals and grocery lists while I’m running. I don’t run with an IPod or anything because I like to hear what’s going on around me and my brain just goes off in a million directions. I’ve written papers, planned menus, invented products, and solved the world’s problems on a run. It’s really unfortunate that I can’t remember a single thing once I’ve stretched and eaten. Oh well. But I digress….

So, this recipe is not only perfect for dinner after a long run, but it’s quick so that makes it a prime candidate for a weeknight dinner too! Really, total time including chopping was maybe 35-40 minutes. It’s vegetarian so it’s perfect for all my non-meat eating friends (Wes and Victoria, I’m talking about you!) and it’s simply delicious! It calls for Madras curry powder which is spicy but if you don’t prefer spicy, you can always use regular or sweet curry. You will still end up with a great tasting, light, healthy, and easy dish that will both taste good and make you feel good. I served mine with some Naan (an oven-baked flatbread traditionally served with South Asian and Middle Eastern food) and some hummus. And, I’m not ashamed to admit that I licked my plate clean. Hey, I was hungry! πŸ™‚

Fall Vegetable Curry

1 1/2 teaspoon olive oil
1 cup diced sweet potato
1 cup small cauliflower florets
1/4 cup thinly sliced yellow onion
2 teaspoons Madras curry powder
1/2 cup organic vegetable broth (such as Swanson’s)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 (15 ounce) can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
1 (14.5 ounce) can no-salt-added diced tomatoes, undrained
2 tablespoons cilantro
1/2 cup plain 2% reduced-fat Greek yogurt

Heat olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add sweet potato to pan; saute 3 minutes. Decrease heat to medium. Add cauliflower, onion, and curry powder; cook 1 minute, stirring mixture constantly. Add broth and next 3 ingredients (through tomatoes); bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally. Sprinkle with cilantro; serve with yogurt.

Servings 4
Calories 231; Fat 3.9g (saturated 0.9g, monounsaturated 1.6g, polyunsaturated 0.9g); Protein 10.4g; Carbohydrate 40.8g; Fiber 8.6g: Cholesterol 2mg; Iron 2.5mg; Sodium 626mg; Calcium 106mg

Leave a Reply

