Green Bay Booyah!

When I was home for the Marine Corps Marathon, I had the opportunity to go through the magazines. etc that my mother gets.  If I found a recipe that sounded interesting, a copy was made and I came home with enough for a book!  Now, I’ve never heard of this one magazine – Cook’s Country – but she gets it and I enjoyed looking through it, especially when I saw a stew/soup (Hereafter known as a stoup.  Yes, I’m aware it’s Rachel Ray’s word.  I’m only borrowing it.  It’s appropriate.) recipe that totally jumped off the page at me.  Firstly, it has a GREAT name!  I mean, really, who doesn’t like to say Booyah?!  True story, Thing 2 was at a friend’s house and sent me a text asking if we could go out to dinner.  I replied, “Are you buying?” (fair question, I thought).  Of course, she responded, “No…..”  Oh.  Well, that’s too bad because that would have been nice.  But anyway, my response to her was that I had already started making dinner anyway.  She asked what I was making.  I totally laughed for a few minutes as I typed “Green Bay Booyah” imagining her facial expression when she read my message.  Hahahahahahahahaha!

So, this stoup is quite possibly one of the tastiest things I’ve eaten in a while and I’ve eaten some good stuff.  Chock full of amazing ingredients like beef, chicken, rutabaga, and potato, this stoup is sure to stick to your ribs and provide comfort on a cool evening.  Now, don’t let me fool you into believing that this is a quick recipe.  Oh no, on the contrary, there is some time involved in the preparation of this meal.  But, it is TOTALLY worth it.  Trust me!  And, according the article prior to the recipe discussing the “history” of the Booyah (ok, yes, I totally giggled.), the amount of time you devote to this version is significantly less than if you were making the original.  I mean, we’re talking at least an all day event.  Now, my appreciation for slow-cooked foods indicates that I’d totally be down for a multi-day cooking event but I’m thankful for the 3-1/2 hour affair this turned out to be.  Yes, 3-1/2 hours.  WORTH IT!  And, this stoup is delicious enough for company.  Seriously.  Unless, you don’t want them to come back.  Once your friends/family eats this, they’ll never want to leave.  It really is THAT good and there’s not a drop of chocolate in it.   Crazy!

Green Bay Booyah

2 1/2 lbs beef short ribs (3 to 4 English-style ribs)

2 1/2 lbs bone-in chicken thighs, trimmed

salt and pepper

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

2 onions, finely chopped

2 celery ribs, minced

8 cups low-sodium chicken broth

2 bay leaves

4 cups shredded green cabbage

1 (28-oz) can diced tomatoes

1/2 lb rutabaga, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces

1 lb russet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces

3 carrots, peeled and sliced 1/4-inch thick

1 cup frozen peas

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1. Remove bones from short ribs; reserve. Trim fat from meat and bones. Pat beef and chicken dry with paper towels and season with salt and pepper. Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat until just smoking. Brown beef on all sides, about 10 minutes; transfer to a plate. Cook chicken until browned all over, about 10 minutes; transfer to plate. When chicken is cool enough to handle, remove and discard skin.

2. Pour off all but 1 1/2 teaspoons fat from pot. Add onions and celery and cook over medium heat until softened, about 5 minutes.  Stir in broth and bay leaves, scraping up any browned bits. Add beef, beef bones, and chicken and bring to a boil.

3. Reduce heat to low and simmer, covered, until chicken registers 175 degrees, about 30 minutes. Transfer chicken to a bowl. When chicken is cool enough to handle, shred into bite-sized pieces, discarding bones. Cover chicken and refrigerate. Continue to simmer stew until beef is tender, about 75 minutes longer. Transfer beef to a plate.  When cool enough, shred into bite-size pieces, discarding fat. Discard beef bones and bay leaves. Defat broth (see note below).

4. Add shredded beef, cabbage, tomatoes, rutabaga, 1 1/4 teaspoons salt, and 1 teaspoon pepper and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until rutabaga is translucent around the edges, about 15 minutes. Stir in potatoes and carrots and cook until all vegetables are tender, about 20 minutes.  Add chicken and peas and simmer until heated through, about 2 to 3 minutes.  Off heat, stir in lemon juice.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve.  Enjoy!!

Note: To defat the broth, lay a paper towel over its surface, quickly lift up by a corner (the fat will adhere), and discard. Repeat with more paper towels, as needed. (I used 6 paper towels so plan for at least that many, depending on how well you trim the beef, bones, and chicken.)

One thought on “Green Bay Booyah!

  1. Pingback: A Hungry Runner is 1! So, I made pumpkin brownies. :) | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

