Chickpea, cherry and ginger salad…and some other stuff

So, the past week and a half have been pretty busy for me. Firstly, I started a new job. That’s always stressful no matter how prepared or ready you think you are! They see great things in you and hire you but you come in clueless and behind the 8-ball. That can be pretty overwhelming,Β  especially if you’re an OCD perfectionist like me. πŸ™‚ Hey, it’s not really THAT bad a fault! Anyway, I’m now “the new girl” and learning like crazy and working hard to catch up. I love actively using my brain all day long! Boredom does not suit me.

Now, because I’m at a new place,Β  I’ve had to give up a major perk of the old place – the on-site fitness center and the awesome people that work in it! Of course, friendships extend beyond the walls of the gym so I didn’t really lose the people, I only lost use of the facility. So, what’s a fitness geek like me to do without my fitness center? Finally join the Crossfit gym, of course! 30 days until the Salt Lake City marathon and I certainly don’t want to waste or lose all the strength I’ve gained doing interval and weight training! You know I’m going to need it to manage the hills and the altitude! And, why just deal with the stress of a new job all by itself when you can add the stress of a new gym and new people at the same time?! So, I started the Crossfit Foundations last week, too! Yes, I’m crazy, I know. My hubby (hereafter known as my Sailor because, well, that’s what he is) routinely refers to me as “nuckin’ futs.” Yeah, I love him, too. πŸ™‚ Anywho, been learning a ton at Razor’s Edge and I’m loving every minute of it. Even the ring dips. Okay, so maybe not the ring dips. Tonight, I learn handstand pushups. Woot! See, I’m definitely crazy. πŸ™‚

image

my new home away from home

Okay, okay, the salad. I know that’s why you’re really here. πŸ™‚ Do you love the chickpea? I certainly do. Do you love healthy recipes that are quick and easy to put together and don’t require cooking? Who doesn’t?! Well, combine quick and easy and some chickpeas and you’ve darn near got perfection! Runner’s World often has great recipes in the magazine and that’s where I found this one – Chickpea, Cherry, and Ginger Salad. Um, hello, they had me at chickpea! This salad seriously comes together in less than 20 minutes and is the perfect combination of carbs, protein, and healthy fat to refuel after a run or a good workout in the box. I literally could eat it every day. Om nom nom!

Chickpea, Cherry, and Ginger Salad

2 (15 ounce) cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 (11 ounce) can mandarin oranges
1/2 red onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, minced
2/3 cup chopped pecans
2/3 cup dried tart cherries
1 jalapeno, minced
1 cup chopped parsley
4 ounces feta

Combine all the above into a bowl. Whisk together 2 tablespoons each apple cider vinegar and olive oil; add salt and pepper to taste. Pour over chickpea salad and mix well. Makes about 4-5 servings (depends on how hungry you are) πŸ™‚

image

4 thoughts on “Chickpea, cherry and ginger salad…and some other stuff

    • I don’t see why not. They will have a different flavor, of course, and they’re less juicy but I’m certain they will still compliment the other flavors in this salad. What about the blueberry kind? Those would be awesome! Note to self…..

Leave a Reply

