California Chicken

If you’re busy like me, the crockpot can easily become your best friend. Between work and travel to/from time, running (which I do at 4am to fit it in, btw!), Crossfit, and just life in general, I really just don’t want to have to do much when I get home. But, I’m hungry and so’s the fam and dinner prep is often left to me. Hey, I’m not complaining about the responsibility.Β  I’d rather have it than eat hot dogs, tacos, or cereal all the time.Β  Although, cereal is awesome. πŸ™‚

Anyway, I try to plan out a week’s worth of meals at a time. That usually means that there are cookbooks and/or cooking magazines full of little sticky notes littered all over my kitchen. Perhaps I need a better system but, at least I have a plan! And, I only buy what we need and that limits the possibility of rotting food in my fridge. So, sometimes even the best laid plans fall apart like when I’m too busy for more than open and/or measure and dump into my crockpot. Like this morning. I had a great recipe planned and no prep time. So, I did a quick look and found a recipe that both sounded delicious and required no slicing, dicing, mincing, or browning. Perfect! Thus, California Chicken was on the menu. A little sweet, a little tangy, a lot yummy! You’re welcome.

image

California Chicken
Makes 4-6 servings

3-lb chicken, quartered (or your favorite pieces)
1 cup orange juice
2/3 cup chili sauce
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon molasses
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1 teaspoon garlic salt
2 tablespoons chopped green pepper
3 medium oranges, peeled and separated into slices, or 13 1/2-ounce can mandarin oranges

1. Arrange chicken in slow cooker.

2. In a separate bowl, combine juice, chili sauce, molasses, dry mustard, and garlic salt. Pour over chicken.

3. Cover and cook on low for 8-9 hours.

4. Stir in green pepper and oranges. Heat 30 minutes longer.

Variation:
Stir 1 teaspoon curry powder in with sauces and seasonings. Stir 1 small can pineapple chunks and juice in with the green pepper and oranges.

image

Leave a Reply

