Chipotle Pork Tacos

So, you know how I feel about my crockpot. It’s practically my best friend in the kitchen! (Shhh….don’t tell all of my other really awesome kitchen gadgets that I said that.) A little amount of prep in the morning and dinner is ready when I get home! Which was especially fabulous last night because I was tired after Monday’s CrossFit workout and yesterday’s tempo run. I most certainly did NOT want to stand in the kitchen trying to throw things together until something resembled dinner! And boy, oh boy did I come home to some good smelling and delicious food!

My grandmother found this recipe in a Good Housekeeping magazine in her doctor’s office. She asked permission and they told her she could bring it home. You thought she pilfered it, didn’t you? Um, no. This is my grandmother we’re talking about! Anyway, I happened to be visiting, saw the recipe and decided that I must have it. So, I took it. Ha! Just kidding – I made a copy. Hey, I learned some of my manners from my grandmother. Pilfering isn’t a part my genetic makeup.

These tacos are fabulous! Slightly spicy and smoky from the chipotles and the chili powder and sweet and crunchy from the cabbage and the radishes. A perfect protein-packed meal to come home to, no matter how long your day was. Enjoy!
image

Chipotle Pork Tacos
Serves 12

1/2 cup ketchup
1/4 cup orange juice
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 medium onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 (4-5lb) boneless pork shoulder
3 tablespoons chopped chipotles in adobo sauce
2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon grated lime peel
Kosher salt
Freshly grated black pepper
Flour tortillas (soft taco size)
Shredded green cabbage
Sliced radishes
Cilantro
Lime wedges

1. In 6- to 7-quart slow cooker bowl, whisk together ketchup, orange juice, Worcestershire sauce, cinnamon, and 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper. Add chopped onions and garlic.

2. In a small bowl, combine chopped chipotles, chili powder, lime peel and 1/2 teaspoon each salt and pepper. Cut pork into 4 equal pieces. Season with chipotle mixture and place in slow cooker.

3. Cover and cook 7 hours on High or 10 hours on low, or until very tender. Transfer meat to cutting board. Skim and discard fat from cooking liquid. Using your hands (give it a little time to cool!) or 2 forks, shred meat, discarding fat. Return meat to slow cooker and mix with sauce. Serve with flour tortillas, shredded cabbage, radishes, cilantro, and lime wedges.

Per serving:
Calories 410; Protein 31g; Carbs 31g; Fat 18g (sat 6g); Fiber 2g; Cholesterol 100mg; Sodium 730mg

image

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Pork Tacos

Leave a Reply

