I scream, You scream, Two-Ingredient Ice Cream!

So, Salt Lake City marathon is in 3 weeks! Did my last big run this morning before my taper. I love the taper!

image

Run done; it’s time to eat! After I got all cleaned up, we piled into the car and went to my favorite place for breakfast grub – Momma’s Place.

image

Momma makes a mean veggie egg white omelet and the best skillet potatoes on the planet. If you ever happen to drive through Milton, Florida, you absolutely must stop there.

image

Ice cream!

I found this recipe on Pinterest (of course) and was intrigued.  Ice cream with only 2 ingredients?  Yeah, right. But, I decided to give it a try. Because I love ice cream. Don’t you? I’d eat a bowl every night if I didn’t know it was soon going to be evident that I ate ice cream every night.  Sigh…..it’s so unfair. So, when you’re offered the chance to make really good ice cream with only two ingredients and with a whole lot less fat and calories, you should definitely take it! And, it’s worth it! I promise.  🙂

The two ingredients are banana and peanut butter.  I know, I know….that doesn’t sound like the makings of ice cream to you. Stay with me though. Frozen banana, when you blend it all up, takes on a very creamy consistency. Really! And, it’s light and heavenly and not overwhelmingly banana flavored. Which is odd considering it is banana. Throw in a little peanut butter for some decadence and you’ve got a quick, delicious, and guilt-free frozen treat that even the pickiest of Things will love. Om nom nom!

Two Ingredient Ice Cream
Recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod
Makes 4 servings

4 very ripe bananas (perfect way to use them up that isn’t ANOTHER loaf of banana bread)
2 tablespoons peanut butter

Slice up the bananas and place them on a large plate or a cookie sheet. Hide in the freezer for a couple of hours.

Get out your blender. Plug it in.

Take frozen banana slices out of freezer; put in blender. Now BLEND! This will likely take some time and will be very noisy and you may think your blender is about to die. It isn’t. (Well, unless it really IS about to die. Then, well, sorry.) Stay with it. You’ll have to stop every few seconds to scrape the banana back down to the blade. Keep blending. (If you’ve blended for what seems like forever and it’s not the consistency you prefer, feel free to add a little milk – like maybe a tablespoon or so.)

Once it’s come together and is all creamy and heavenly, add peanut butter. Mix until blended. Dish up into bowls – yes, you must share – and gobble it up. Without guilt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

