Will run for Chocolate & Nut Butter Bites

As you know, I’m a runner.  It may seem like I spend more time in the gym than on the road but that’s not true.  I think I’ve got a pretty good balance going.  I’m at CrossFit on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday and I run on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.  Except for Saturday, I’m usually out running in the dark.  Well, when it warms up, I’ll do some of my Saturday distance in the dark because, well, it really sucks to run 20 miles in the heat, humidity, and sun.  The humidity doesn’t disappear when the sun goes down but it is a little less oppressive without the sun baking me as well.  Anyway, it’s dark, it’s early, and it’s peaceful.

The moon is my light, the frogs and birds are my music, the rooster crowing brings me out of my reverie and makes me wonder what the heck is making all that racket for because, well, it’s DARK!  I don’t understand roosters.  I hear dogs barking in the distance and sometimes, I hear dogs barking at me.  Sometimes they startle me.  Like my heart wasn’t beating fast enough already!  Four words. Thank. Goodness. For. Fences.  Seriously!  The wee morning hours are my time.  I’m out with myself and my thoughts.  I see, hear, and smell the neighbors waking up.  I can smell breakfast cooking and coffee percolating.  Garage doors are lifting, trash cans are being rolled to the street, and the newspaper is being delivered.  I love it.  I consider myself lucky to be a part of it.

DSCF1214

Treat time!

I was looking for some quick dessert recipes – hey, who doesn’t love dessert?! – and I came across this one.  Two ingredients.  No, I’m not kidding.  You know I had to make some.  You know you will, too.  Might as well go to the store right now.  Why are you still sitting there?

Om nom nom!

Om nom nom!

Chocolate & Nut Butter Bites
Recipe from Eating Well
Makes 4 servings

8 1/4-ounce squares bittersweet chocolate
4 teaspoons almond, cashew, or pistachio butter

So easy to make!  Top each chocolate square with 1/2 teaspoon nut butter of your choice (almond, cashew, pistachio).  Squish together.  Put in your mouth.  Be happy!

Per serving:
Calories 79; Fat 6g (sat 2g, mono 1g); Cholesterol 0mg; Carbs 9g; Sugars 6g; Protein 1g; Fiber 1g: Sodium 12mg; Potassium 20mg

Leave a Reply

