Crockpot Steel Cut Oatmeal

Have you ever made oatmeal in your crockpot? Me either but I’ve always wanted to try it! Oatmeal is such a healthy breakfast packed full of fiber and complex carbs that help keep you full and power you through whatever your morning throws at you. The major differences between steel cut and regular rolled oats are cooking time (steel cut takes longer), texture (steel cut are chewier), and taste (steel cut have a slightly nuttier taste). Plus, you can’t cook regular oats in the crockpot – they’d turn to mush and who wants to eat mush? Not me! Blech!

Anyway, we’ve had a major line of thunderstorms come through and it looked like they might stay a while. Now, I love running in the rain but I don’t mess around with thunderstorms. Too scary! And, seeing I live in what is locally known as “the lightning strike capital of the world,” I’m not taking any chances. So, I figured I would throw in an extra day of CrossFit if I couldn’t head out the door for my Thursday morning run. And, either way, I’m going to need to eat so making the oatmeal seemed like a great idea!

I looked at a few recipes, took some ideas, and came up with my own. Here’s what went into the crockpot:

image

Cooking spray – apparently this is EXTREMELY important if you don’t want to have to serve your oatmeal with a chisel
2 cups steel cut oats
8 1/2 cups water
1 1/2 cup 1% milk
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon flax seed (you can leave out, if you prefer)
2 apples, peel, cored, and chopped into 1/2-inch cubes (I used one Granny Smith and 1 Fuji. Don’t judge me. It was what I had.)

I set the crockpot for 8 hours on low and I went to bed. Smelled amazing when I woke up! I got to run since the thunderstorms held off and here is what greeted me when I was done.

image

I, of course, add some peanut butter and protein powder to mine and topped it with a banana. Om nom nom!

image

Now, unless you’re serving a football team, you will have leftovers. This is not a bad thing! This stuff reheats fabulously and you’ll not have to make breakfast for a few days. Just add a little liquid of your choice to your serving, pop it in the microwave for a minute(ish), stir, add your mix-ins and enjoy! This is definitely a great way to start your day and help power you through the week. Enjoy!

Here’s a cute picture of one of my kitties…just because. πŸ™‚ This is Ginny. She likes boxes.

image

3 thoughts on “Crockpot Steel Cut Oatmeal

  1. Hi Jennifer, it’s Monica your foodie penpal. I’ve been checking out your blog, and I love it. Oddly enough, I also have a cat named Ginny who occasionally makes her way into my food pictures (as amateur as they are) because she likes to investigate any of my cooking. What a coincidence!

    • Thanks! And that IS a coincidence! Haha. My Ginny pays so much attention that I expect to come home one day to her cooking dinner. I’m not sure I would argue, either. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

