Honoring a Hero; Moxy socks; Make your own Chinese take-out!

So, it’s a big day in my second official week of CrossFit. It’s Hero Friday! My first Hero WOD!! CrossFit Hero WODs are intense and are intended to be performed with intense effort, in honor of our fallen Heroes. The idea is to focus on what you can do, scale where needed, and think about the Hero that has given his all for our freedom. Today’s Hero is Australian Army Sergeant Brett Wood MG, 32, of Ferntree Gully, VIC, assigned to the 2nd Commando Regiment, based in Sydney, NSW, died on May 23, 2011, in Helmand province, Afghanistan, after insurgents attacked him with an improvised explosive device. He is survived by his wife Elvi, his mother Allison, and his father David.

Wood

The WOD consists of running, burpee box jumps, sumo-deadlift high pulls, and thrusters, 5 rounds for time. You can see the breakdown for each group (Rx, Scaled, and Novice) here. I, of course, did the Novice (Except for the burpee box jumps. Those I did scaled.) because, well, that’s where I’m at. Β And I was skeered. But I was ready! And I think I knocked it out of the park! I finished in 30:25. Woot!! By round 3, I felt like my heart was going to explode out of my chest and my legs were like jello but I kept on. Dug deep and found more. Nothing like finishing a tough Hero WOD to make a girl feel invincible. Oh, and awesome socks help, too. Check out my new Moxy socks! Love them. πŸ™‚

image

Make your own take-out!

I don’t know about you but we love us some Chinese take-out. We have a great place that we love and frequent regularly but, sometimes, the budget doesn’t have room or I want Chinese but without all the sodium and fat. So, that’s when I make my own. Takes very little time, I can control what goes in there and my Chinese food craving is quashed. Can’t argue with that!

image

Beef and Broccoli
Recipe from Women’s Health Magazine
Serves 4

2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 can (14 1/2-ounces) beef broth
2 tablespoons light soy sauce
2 tablespoons oyster sauce
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 pound boneless sirloin steak, cut into thin strips
4 cups fresh broccoli florets
1 clove garlic, minced
1 medium onion, slices
1 red bell pepper, sliced into strips (optional – I added for a bright red pop of color and because I LOVE red bell pepper)

1. Β In a small bowl, combine the cornstarch, broth, soy sauce, and oyster sauce and whisk until smooth. Β Set aside.

2. Β Warm the oil in a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat for 1 minute. Β Add the steak and cook, stirring constantly, for 5 to 7 minutes, or until the beef is browned.

3. Β Transfer to a bowl to keep warm.

4. Β Add the broccoli, garlic, and onion (and bell pepper, if desired) to the skillet and cook, stirring constantly, for 1 to 2 minutes, or until the broccoli is bright green and crisp-tender. Β Add the broth mixture and bring to a boil, stirring. Β Reduce the heat, add the beef, and simmer for 5 minutes or until the sauce thickens.

image

Do you have cravings, too? What’s your take-out guilty pleasure?

Words of wisdom from Dove chocolate:

image

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

