Ready to Run! Oh, and I made some Greek Chicken

The marathon is in 3 days and a wake up. Travel day is tomorrow. Can! Not! Wait! I’m totally pumped about this whole trip. We’re going to have such a great time! I made another trip to The Fresh Market and picked up some individual packets of almond butter and I have plenty of oatmeal, Clif Bars, and protein bars crammed in my carry-on. Hey, I’ve got a “sensitive” tummy and controlling what I eat is the best way for me to deal with the stress of the travel. I wish I was one of those people who didn’t get motion sickness and who didn’t get jet lag and who could eat whatever without fear of tummy reprisal but alas, I am not. So, I plan and I prepare and I pack foods that I know I can eat race morning. A little bit of preparation really makes for a lot less stress when I’m in a different place. And, it’s about FUN, not stress, right? Right!

Oh, speaking of the Fresh Market, I picked up some cashew butter and sunflower seed butter the last time I was there. I’ve always wanted to try those – move beyond the peanut – and they had both there!

image

They’re both a little on the pricey side, if you ask me, but then, I would expect that with cashew butter since cashews aren’t cheap to begin with. The price of the sunflower seed butter surprised me a little but, I still grabbed a jar because I wanted to try it. Got them home and Thing 2 takes a look at the jars and says, “Mom, why do you buy such weird stuff?” Haha! My response? “Um, hello, have you MET me?!” πŸ™‚ Anyway, I am totally down with the cashew butter. Oh my gosh, so GOOD! I’ve been putting it in my oatmeal instead of peanut butter and I’ve had it with both apples and bananas and it is supremely delicious. If you like cashews, you are going to love cashew butter. Find some. Buy some. Make cashew butter and banana sandwiches. Eat it all up.

image

The sunflower butter is a little different to me. Now, I generally don’t eat sunflower seeds. I didn’t grow up eating them and it takes too much work for me to get that little kernel out if its shell. Unshelled sunflower seeds? Yes, please! But, I do not have the skills to do all that work without involving my brain, both hands, a spit cup, and a pile of napkins. So, the flavor is a little strong for me but the butter is still pretty good. It will take me some time to grow accustomed to it but if you are a connoisseur of the sunflower seed, then you will most certainly love sunflower butter. I promise.

You’re probably wondering what the health benefits of both of those are over peanut butter. Well, for the sunflower butter, the obvious is there aren’t any peanuts and that’s great news for people with a peanut allergy. Seriously, it’s not good for you if it’s going to kill you. Literally. Sunflower butter is also PACKED with unsaturated fats (like 90%!) which are super good for you because they help to lower your cholestorol. Cashew butter is also packed with unsaturated fats (75%) and usually has less sugar than most commercial peanut butters, unless you buy natural which only has peanuts in it. You can use cashew butter in place of peanut butter in pretty much everything and it is totally delicious.

OHMYGOSH, MYFLIGHTLEAVESTOMORROW!

Sorry. Excited!

Another Crockpot Success story!

I own a fantastic cookbook entitled Fix It and Forget It and it is seriously jammed crammed with crockpot recipes. More than you would ever imagine. There are so many I’m not sure how long it would take to try them all but I would guess at least 2 years, if you did one a day. I could be wrong. Anyway, I wanted to throw some stuff together and make sure my family has some leftover, healthy foods while I’m not at home cooking for them. I’m sure the leftovers will probably still be there when I get back and there will be McDonald’s trash and pizza boxes in evidence but hey, I did my part. You can lead a horse to water but you can only make him drink when you’re standing there watching him do it. Ha! Anyway, I wanted something easy – who doesn’t? – and I spotted a recipe that was definitely easy. Oh, side note, it was easy because I had a jar of prechopped garlic. Why did I have a jar of prechopped garlic, you ask? Well, my sailor made dinner this past weekend – he boiled some sausages and then grilled them but he needed a large amount of garlic for the boiling part and he didn’t want to spend all day chopping heads of garlic. I don’t normally condone chopped garlic because I think it’s silly to spend money on stuff like that but, it sure did come in handy for this recipe! I mean, the recipe calls for a WHOLE HEAD OF GARLIC. Who has time to chop all that in the morning? So, anyway, if you decide to try this, plan ahead and chop in advance or buy jarred garlic. *sigh* There, I said it.

Anyway, it was delicious. Chicken and potatoes getting friendly with a ton of garlic, onion, and oregano all day long. Nice!

image

Greek Chicken
Served 4-6

4-6 potatoes, quartered (depends on size of potatoes)
2-3 pounds chicken pieces (I used boneless, skinless breasts but bone-in pieces would be fine, too)
2 large onions, quartered
1 whole bulb garlic, minced
3 teaspoons dried oregano (this will look like a LOT. it’s cool.)
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil

1. Place potatoes in bottom of slow cooker. Add chicken, onion, and garlic. Sprinkle with seasonings. Top with oil.

2. Cover. Cook on High 5-6 hours or on Low 9-10 hours.

3. Gobble it up!

image

Leave a Reply

