Travelling, runaway elephants and Hot Fudge Cake!

Today was travel day! We made it safely to Salt Lake City and brrr, is it cold! There’s a freeze warning tonight. Um, yeah, that is much different than muggy Gulf Coast. But, we’re settling in and having a good time.

We managed to find a healthy breakfast at the Atlanta airport. Thank goodness for Dunkin!

image

We needed to shop for food essentials when we got to Salt Lake. Look what we found! Jackpot!

image

Then, we went to the Hogle Zoo – only a mile from the hotel! – and walked around and breathed some high altitude air. It was great! Unfortunately, the elephants ran away when we got in there. I love elephants so this just broke my heart a little. Oh, well.

image

So, since I’m obviously not home to cook, I thought I would share some recipes from one of my earlier blogs, Cooking with JenS. Here’s a good one! It’s CHOCOLATE!

So, how does Hot Fudge Cake sound? I know what you’re thinking. O.M.G. Yep. I’m right, aren’t I? And, if you’re not thinking that…what’s wrong with you?! It’s HOT FUDGE CAKE! And, better yet, it’s practically guilt-free! No, I’m not kidding. It really is! I promise!! For starters, it’s a Cooking Light recipe. I wish I could tell you the issue but I ripped this page before I was smart enough to write on the bottom of the pages without the month and year. Sorry. But anyway, it’s Cooking Light and they’ve done wonderful things with HOT FUDGE CAKE and low calories and barely any fat at all! And, it was so easy to make and you will likely have every ingredient in your pantry already. (Well, except for the milk. You should really keep that in the fridge.) And, it will cook while you’re eating dinner and then, be ready to eat when you’re ready for dessert. It all sounds too good to be true, doesn’t it? Really, I’m not going to sell you a bridge or ocean-front property in Arizona.

I could go on and on and on about ooey , gooey, hot fudginess, chocolately heaven in a bowl, decadent deliciousness but that would be rude. You want to make it already. So, here’s the recipe. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Happy cooking, eating and drinking!

dscf1127

Hot Fudge Cake

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup fat-free milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup packed brown sugar
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
1 1/2 cups hot water

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup, and level with a knife. Combine the first 5 ingredients in a medium bowl. Stir in milk and vanilla extract. Spoon the batter into a 9-inch square pan. Combine brown sugar and 3 tablespoons cocoa, and sprinkle over cake batter. Pour water over batter (do not stir). Bake at 350 for 40 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched in center. Serve warm.

Calories 172 (3% from fat); Fat 0.5g (sat 0.3g, mono 0g, poly 0.1g); Protein 2.2g; Carbohydrates 40.3g; Fiber 0.3g; Cholesterol 0mg; Iron 1.4mg; Sodium 63mg; Calcium 79mg

dscf1125

Leave a Reply

