Fluffer. Nutter. Brownies. Oh my!

I signed up for a 10k race on May 4th! I haven’t run a 10k race since dinosaurs walked the earth! I’m totally going to set a PR. πŸ˜‰ I’m running the Fiesta 10k in Pensacola. Should be a good time and Carla and a couple other friends will be running, too. I’m excited!

Best. Snack. Ever.

image

Have you ever tried any of the Barbara’s Bakery products? They make a variety of delicious and nutricious cereals and snacks. My favorite are the gluten-free Puffins (cereal) and the Snackimals crackers. Yeah, the animal crackers are probably more for kids but I don’t care. I love them. I wish the stores here carried the snickerdoodle variety. And the Puffins? I’m addicted. I love them so much. I put them in my Greek yogurt, add fruit, and eat them for breakfast, snack, dinner, whatever. Om. Nom. Nom.

And the Justin’s? O. M. G. They have peanut butter and almond butter (variety of flavors) and chocolate hazelnut. I’ve died and gone to heaven! They do sell jars of deliciousness but the little packets are perfectly portable! I find mine at the Fresh Market and I know Whole Foods carries them (well, at least the one in Salt Lake City does). πŸ™‚

image

Fluffer. Nutter. Brownies.

image

Yeah, those happened. And why shouldn’t they? You know you want them to happen in your house, too. Fudge-y, peanut buttery brownies with a walnut marshmallow topping. Seems like the perfect Saturday afternoon snack, doesn’t it? I thought so, too. I prefer to make my brownies from scratch (don’t be afraid – it’s really not that difficult) but, you can certainly use a boxed mix if you have one in your pantry.

2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 stick (4 ounces) unsalted butter, cut into tablespoons
1 cup sugar (or 1/2 cup Splenda blend)
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
Pinch of salt
1 cup peanut butter chips
1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
1 cup mini-marshmallows

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Butter an 8-inch square pan. In a saucepan, melt the chocolate and the butter over low heat. Let cool slightly.

2. In a medium bowl, beat the sugar with the eggs and vanilla. Add the melted chocolate and beat until smooth. Stir in the flour and salt, then fold in the peanut butter chips.

3. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan; top with chopped walnuts. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and top with mini-marshmallows. Return to oven and bake for 2 – 3 minutes or until marshmallows are toasty brown. Let cool completely in pan. Cut into squares and gobble them up. Don’t forget the milk or the scoop of ice cream!

Recipe adapted from Classic Fudge Brownies in Food and Wine Magazine, February 2002.

image

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

