Some personal thoughts. Then, a personal flat wrap pizza.

I’ve decided that I need to share. I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately and then, yesterday, I read a blog that had been “Freshly Pressed” – that means WordPress (where I blog) has decided to highlight that blog post because it is entertaining, enlightening, uplifting, or whatever. It was like WordPress was talking to me, telling me I needed to say what I’d been wanting to say but hadn’t figured out how. So, here goes.

Why do I love running so much? Well, I don’t really know what started my love of the sport but I know why I love it now. I ran track and cross-country in high school – I also played softball in a community league and was an avid bowler (don’t judge me) – and, while I enjoyed the team sports, running offered me the opportunity to be a part of the team but I could “hide” in the background if I wanted to. You see, I was very shy and super self-conscious. Who isn’t at that age? (Well, Thing 2 for one. Not completely sure how I produced such a self-aware child but I did. She must get it from her father.) Anyway, I was awkward and gangly and had braces and wore glasses. That’s quite a combination when you toss in the shy factor! Can you say major self-esteem issues? So, fast forward through life and I’ve grown and learned more about myself but I didn’t ever really and truly like myself for me – the physical me. I mean, I liked me but I didn’t love me. I could always find something wrong or something that I wished was better or different or bigger or smaller or flatter or rounder. And then, running rediscovered me. I’d say I rediscovered running but that wouldn’t be accurate. Perhaps it’s even more accurate to say I rediscovered myself, thanks to running. Running has given me so much – strength, endurance, an outlet, me time, a POSITIVE self-image, and an amazing belief that I can do things I never thought possible. I mean seriously, I run marathons. And I LIKE them. (Okay, I don’t like them in the rain.) Maybe running has made me crazy but I’m fine with that. πŸ™‚

Don’t get me wrong, I still have body issues sometimes. I’m pretty sure that’s normal. (right?) And, as you can tell from some of the recipes I’ve shared, I have a sweet tooth. Yeah, I eat cookies. This is actually a big shocker to some people. Like, a HUGE shocker. Yes, generally, I eat healthy and I actually enjoy it. I love the way food tastes! (except for mushrooms. blech!) I love vegetables and fruit and no I don’t need dressing or dip or a sweet whipped topping to get me to eat them! (hmm….nope, still wouldn’t eat a mushroom.) But yes, I love cake too. And brownies. And ice cream! And this is where those body issues come in. I’ll have them sometimes if I eat a couple of cookies and still want another. Well, society says no, I should not have even had the first one – they’ll make me fat! And, of course, society’s right! NO. THEY ARE NOT! One more cookie will not make me – or you – fat. Seriously. As whinybaby would put it, “eat the damn cookie!” And when you do, don’t feel guilty about it. Unless you didn’t offer me one. Then, you should feel guilty.

Flying solo for dinner and how to survive!

So, I found myself with an evening alone – random, I know. Normally, in these situations, I serve myself some cereal for dinner. And sometimes, I have toast, too. What? Cereal is GOOD and everyone loves toast! But, I decided it was time for me to grow up (just for a minute) and make myself a real dinner. I checked out my supplies and decided I was in the mood for pizza!

image

Have you ever tried those flatout wraps? Om nom nom! I also love the flatout fold-its. They make terrific paninis… especially with turkey, brie, and green apple or pear. Oh. Now I want one. Um…focus…pizza. Okay, so I just grabbed some pizza sauce (if you don’t have this, tomato sauce seasoned with some Italian seasoning will work), some cheese and other stuff I wanted to eat. If you go to the flatout bread website, they have loads of recipe suggestions for their products. I used the recipes for artisan pizzas as a guide – mostly for approximate cooking times. The result? Delicious! My own healthy personal pan pizza (hey, it cooked on a pan) without all the greasinesd of take-out!

image

So, what else did I use besides sauce and cheese? Well, I chopped up some ham (use your protein of choice or go straight veggie!), 1 yellow, 1 orange, and 1 red mini bell pepper, and I grabbed some roasted red tomatoes that I picked up at Publix the other day. Om nom nom!

Lightly oil the “crust” and prebake at 350 degrees for about 5-7 minutes. Take it out of the oven – CAREFUL, IT’S HOT! – and top with your desired toppings. Back into the oven for another 5-7 minutes (depends on how crispy you want your crust) until cheese is all melty and fabulous. Cut into slices and gobble it down!

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

