A WOD, tips on recovering from injuries, and Chocolate Snickerdoodles

Happy Monday!

I went to CrossFit this morning and I DID THE WOD!!! I had looked at what was programmed the night before and thought that I might be able to because my ribs were feeling pretty good. But, I knew I still had to be cautious because I want to continue to be able to do the WODs. My BQ training plan starts next week (!) and an injury does not fit with the program. So, I took it easy, did some low-weight squats and cleans after my warm-up (where pushups didn’t break me, thankyouverymuch!) and did a couple of kettlebell snatches with 15# to see how it felt. All manageable! Game. On. πŸ™‚

image

I decided to go with the 400 meter run because, well, I AM a runner and I know I was going to go lower on the kettlebell weight. Kind of balanced it out in my mind. πŸ™‚ I stuck with the 20# but I had a 15# standing by in case I needed to ease back. I broke the pushups into sets of 5 to give my upper body a little break. All in all, I feel great! And happy I got a good workout in. And, I’m hungry. πŸ™‚

My favorite post-workout breakfast meal? 1 cup plain Greek Yogurt, 1 serving Cinnamon Puffins, and as much fruit as I can fit into the bowl. Tons of protein to help my muscles rebuild and get stronger. Doesn’t hurt that it’s delicious, too! Om nom nom!

image

Important things to remember when recovering from an injury:

1. If it hurts, don’t do it. Seriously. This can be difficult for some people to remember.

2. Rest is good.

3. Practice active recovery – unless you’ve been advised by your doctor to do nothing … then, do nothing until you’re cleared to begin rehabilitation and active recovery. What’s active recovery? Low intensity exercise and stretching. Remember, you’re trying to come back from the injury, not revisit it all over again.

4. Don’t stress about it. Healing takes time and patience is key. No rushing!

COOKIES!

Snickerdoodles are my absolute favorite cookie, ever. You probably thought it was the peanut butter, didn’t you. I do love me some peanut butter. But, there’s just something about the snickerdoodle. Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside, all covered in a delicious cinnamon sugar coating – I can’t resist them! The only problem is finding a recipe that ISN’T made with vegetable shortening. Blech! I don’t want to feed that to anyone, not even my enemies! So, when I came across a recipe for chocolate snickerdoodles without a trace of shortening in them, it was love at first sight!

Olive Oyl

A chocolate snickerdoodle?! It’s like a gift from heaven!

image

Chocolate Snickerdoodles

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled
1 large egg
1 teaspoon cinnamon

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In a bowl, sift the flour with the baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In another bowl, using a handheld electric mixer, beat the butter with 1 cup of the sugar until creamy. Add the melted chocolate and the egg and beat until smooth. Beat in the dry ingredients until incorporated.

2. In a shallow bowl, mix the remaining 1/2 cup of sugar with the cinnamon. Roll the dough into 1-inch balls and roll in the cinnamon sugar. Transfer to 3 parchment paper-lined baking sheets and flatten to 2-inch rounds. (the bottom of a glass dipped into the cinnamon sugar mixture works wonders here!) Bake for 12-14 minutes, until the cookies are puffed and cracked. Transfer to racks and let cool, if you’re patient enough. Om nom nom!

Leave a Reply

