Bumblebees, White Squirrels, and Country Captain Chicken

Ah, Tuesday morning. Last Tuesday before Tuesdays become Track Tuesdays. Eep! I was a little stiff and sore from yesterday’s WOD – it’s amazing how 60 pushups can really wear a girl out! – but my ribs are feeling great and it was a beautiful morning for a run. I, of course, went for a cute headband because I needed the pick-me-up.

image

We enjoyed our nice easy 6 mile run and, as we were heading back to our cars, I saw a white squirrel. A white squirrel?!

image

I’ve never in my life seen one of those! He (or she; I certainly wasn’t close enough to figure out which) was playing tag with some grey squirrels around a tree. (The above photo is a random photo off the internet. My new life’s goal is to actually get my own picture of one.) And then, I saw another one! Two of something completely random and brand new in less than 5 minutes! That has to be a sign, right? It’s a good omen, I can just feel it.

Speaking of signs/omens, I got into my car on Sunday to head to the grocery store and this is what I saw:

image

Now THAT, for sure, has to be a sign. πŸ™‚

DINNER!

So, I was perusing my big book o’ recipes and I came across an interesting one. The dish description reads, “Both South Carolina and Georgia lay claim to this classic Southern dish, which may have been brought to America by a ship’s captain ferrying spices from the Far East.” My attention was grabbed! A Southern dish (hey, I *do* live in the South!) with traditional Eastern spices (read: curry powder)? Where do I sign?! It’s so interesting, in my opinion, to learn about a dish’s history and how it came to be. Anyway, we love us some curry so I knew I had to make it.

Now, you’ll note that the recipe says to cut the chicken into small pieces. I neglected to read that instruction which is why there are big pieces of chicken tenderloin in my photo. But don’t worry, it turned out just fine. Also, I didn’t have any currants on hand so I left them out. It only calls for 1/4 cup anyway so it’s not that big a deal. You could always substitute raisins or dates, if you have those. I cannot because Thing 2 would throw a hissy-fit. Raisins are her most LEAST favorite thing in the world. Thus, no dried fruit in our dish. The traditional side accompaniment to this dish is rice but you could certainly do couscous or even top a baked potato. Om nom nom!

image

Country Captain Chicken
Makes 4 servings

1 tablespoon curry powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
2 1/2 cups vertically sliced onion (about 2 medium)
3/4 cup thinly sliced green bell pepper (about 1 medium)
2 garlic cloves, minced
2/3 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1/4 cup dried currants
2 tablespoons fresh thyme, chopped, divided
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes with jalapeno, undrained
1/2 cup sliced almonds, toasted

1. Combine curry powder, salt, and black pepper. Sprinkle chicken with curry mixture.

2. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken mixture to pan; saute 5 minutes. Add onion, bell pepper, and garlic; saute 3 minutes. Add broth, currants, 1 tablespoon thyme, and tomatoes; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Stir in remaining 1 tablespoon thyme; cook 1 minute. Sprinkle with almonds.

image

Calories 314; Fat 11.2g (sat 1.4g, mono 7g, poly 1.9g); Protein 30.5g; Carb 23.2g; Fiber 4.6g; Cholesterol 66mg; Iron 2.6mg; Sodium 683mg; Calcium 86mg

Recipe from Cooking Light, January/February 2009

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

