Anchors aweigh. Mexi-Cali Tuna Salad

Thing 1 leaves for boot camp tomorrow. I can’t believe that day is already here! I knew it was coming but it’s almost as if it snuck up on me! I’m so proud of her for making the decision to serve her country – the same decision I made many moons ago when I decided to follow in MY father’s footsteps. It’s all come full circle. I’ve had a military ID card my entire life and so far, she’s able to say the same. It’s quite a decision – not one to be taken lightly – and I’m so proud of her for making it. She’s going to kick butt and take names in boot camp and then she comes back down here for school. So, she’ll be here but “on her own” – we’ll still get to see her before she gets orders to her first duty station and heads off on her own adventure,wherever that may be.

image

She wanted to go out to dinner last night. Ruby Tuesday was her choice. Apparently, she was dreaming about their White Cheddar Mashed Potatoes. I get that. I dream about food, too. And, those potatoes are GOOD! Me? I opted for the grilled zucchini and the mashed cauliflower as my sides. Om nom nom!

image

So, I’ve been resting my leg and I think I’m ready to get back at it. Well, I know I’M ready – I hope my leg is, too! It’s week 2 of marathon training and I need to get back on the ball. I’ll be hitting CrossFit tonight and then, it’s back out to the track tomorrow (Track Tuesday!) for 4x800s. Woot! Keep your fingers crossed that 5 days was enough of a healing break. I’m not ready to downgrade adjust my goals just yet. πŸ™‚

Do you dream about food?
What are your favorite sides at Ruby Tuesday?

Let’s Eat!

I am always looking for interesting ways to mix it up for both dinner and lunch. I usually do leftovers of dinner for lunch but, you know, even though the food is good, sometimes that can get old. And, while a sandwich is a great standby, even that can get boring. So, when I come across something different that packs a healthy punch, I’m always game to try it. And, if it only has 4 ingredients and requires minimal prep work, I’m definitely game! So, when I was browsing my Eat This, Not That Abs Diet cookbook and came across this recipe for Mexi-Cali Tuna Salad, I was intrigued. And, I had all the ingredients! Well, sort of. Close enough. It calls for avocado and I had guacamole. It also calls for a 3 ounce can of tuna and I had a 2.5 ounce pouch. That works, in my book. πŸ™‚

image

Add some additional veggies – for me, that’s sugar snap peas and sliced red bell pepper – and you’ve got a healthy lunch (or dinner) that’s sure to beat the lunchbox blues.

How do you avoid the lunchbox blues?

Mexi-Cali Tuna Salad
(makes 1 serving)

1 can (3 oz) chunk light tuna in water, drained
3/4 cup black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup salsa
1/2 ripe avocado, peeled and diced

Mix the tuna, beans and salsa in a bowl. Top with the avocado. Gobble it up!

Per serving:
460 calories; 36g protein; 42g carbohydrates; 17g fat (2.5g saturated); 1660 mg sodium; 19g fiber

Leave a Reply

