Milestones, Lessons Learned & Turkey and Brown Rice Chili

You know what I just realized? Yesterday’s post was my 100th! That’s a milestone!

image

I should have celebrated it by doing something special or creative. Oh well, I’ll just have to pay attention and maybe I’ll have something in the works for a future milestone. πŸ™‚

So, CrossFit. :/ Not my best WOD.

image

My leg let me know it wasn’t 100% during the double unders. Oh, who am I kidding? I got maybe 2 DUs. Then, we worked on front squats. I got up to 95 pounds. Aaaaand, that’s my one rep max front squat. After that, I got my bar set up for the WOD and got ready for the run. I knocked out the mile almost mile (it was definitely a little short) in 7:07.

So … the thrusters and the sumo deadlift highpulls. Yeah. I set up my weights on the 45# bar. Bad move. I should have used the 30# bar. In case you don’t know, the 30# bar is thinner, designed for smaller hands. I don’t know if I thought I was Michael Jordan or what, but that 45# was way too hard for my sweaty hands to hold on to. I made it through one round and couldn’t even get the bar up to my chest for the next set of thrusters. Literally. So, I had to quickly scale down the weight (oh, btw, this was a TIMED workout – I didn’t have all day!) and I was able to knock out another full round and half of the 3rd. *sigh* Not my best performance. But, guess who’s going to be using the 30# bar from now on? πŸ™‚

image

Track Tuesday! Our workout was 4x800s at a 3:26 pace with a 2 minute break between them. Ugh. It was muggy and gross – hello, the Florida panhandle in May! My leg was stiff, too but we still knocked them out and stayed on pace. The best part? Pigeon pose in the damp grass of the soccer field after we were done. πŸ™‚ And, I shall be practicing that pose all day since it really makes my leg feel better. Yes, at work. What? You’ve never seen anyone do yoga in their office? πŸ˜‰

What’s your favorite yoga pose?
Do you have any milestones coming up that need celebrating?

Let’s eat!

It’s another crockpot recipe! This is one of our favorites. I’ve been making this recipe for YEARS and I’ve shared it with countless people. It’s about time I shared it with you! It’s so easy to put together and has minimal prep work. Seriously, all you have to do is chop an onion and cook the turkey. Then, it’s pretty much up to your can opener to do the rest of the work. Win! Cook the rice and add to the chili right before you’re going to serve and voila! A delicious, healthy, hearty but light meal. Don’t like ground turkey? Use what you DO like, just skip the oil if you use ground beef. Don’t like brown rice? Use white rice. Want it spicy? Add heat. Want to sleep in? Brown the turkey and onion the night before. Want someone else to make dinner? Um, good luck with that. πŸ™‚

image

Turkey and Brown Rice Chili
Makes 6 servings

1 tablespoon canola or vegetable oil
3/4 pound ground turkey
1 cup chopped onion
2 (14.5 ounce) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
1 (14 ounce) can chili beans, in sauce, undrained
1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chiles, drained
1/2 cup water
1 tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups cooked brown rice

1. Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat. Cook turkey and onion, 8 to 10 minutes, or until turkey is no longer pink; drain.

2. In 3- to 4-quart slow cooker, mix turkey and remaining ingredients, except rice. Cover; cook on LOW heat for 8 to 10 hours.

3. Cook rice according to package directions. Stir cooked rice into chili; heat on HIGH for 15 minutes or until rice is heated through.

4. Serve in bowls and top with whatever you desire. Grab spoon and shovel into mouth. Careful, it’s HOT!

Nutrition information:
Calories 240; Fat 4g (saturated 1g); Carbs 38g (Fiber 7g); Protein 20g; Sodium 1270mg

Recipe from Betty Crocker

Leave a Reply

