Knock your Memorial Day BBQ out of the park with BBQ Chicken Burgers and Texas Oven Fries

Hello! Just a couple more days and the weekend and Memorial Day will be upon us. Woohoo!

So, there are some new developments in my “leg injury” saga. :/ CrossFit last night was good. We had a 400m run as a warm-up and that hurt a little but, there was no running after that. Phew!

image

Our skillset was 2 for 1 Wallballs. You’re probably thinking, “what. the. heck?” Yeah, that’s what I thought too. And, then they showed us what that was and I thought, “what. the. (insert bad word here)!?” Basically, with a wallball, you take, well, a weighted ball (I was using the 12 pound – it’s huge, looks like a hackeysack for giants), hold it in your hands in front of your face, squat and, when you’re standing, toss the ball up to a marker 10 feet high, catch the ball and go back into the squat. Confused? Here. This will help.

So, that’s a regular wallball. THIS is a 2 for 1 wallball.

Yeah, those peeps are ridicilous. THAT certainly wasn’t going to happen! Although, I really did try. πŸ™‚

Anyway, the actual WOD was fun. EMOM stands for every minute on the minute we did 5 hang clean and jerks and for the rest of the minute, we did double unders or pushups. I, being crazy, opted for pushups because it aggravates my leg to jump. I scaled down the weight to 55#- 95# jerks are too much for me – and had a great workout.

Tempo run this morning? Not so much. We warmed up with a mile and then set to keeping an 8:00/mile pace for 5 miles. I got through about a mile and a half and was too hurt to hold that pace. BIG ole hitch in my giddy-up this morning. My leg refused to loosen up and stretch out and I was limping and all out of whack. Caused my plantar fasciitis to act up in my right foot and my toes were cramping up a little. I was an absolute wreck. So, I slowed waaaaayyy down and told Carla to go on without me. *sob!* (I’m such a martyr!) I managed to finish the 6-mile loop without thumbing for a ride – don’t think I didn’t consider it! Carla even came back to get me! She’s so sweet. πŸ™‚ At present, I’m waiting to hear back from my doctor about getting in to see a sports medicine doc. Definitely not going to be running for a bit. It’s only week 2 of marathon training. Maybe with proper treatment, I’ll bounce back quickly. Yes, I know I should have rested it. I know. I’ll keep you posted on how the visit to the doc goes, whenever that happens. Military medicine is not known for its quickness. *sigh*

Anyway, happy thoughts!

What are you cooking this weekend?
Got any big barbecue plans for Memorial Day?

If you’re looking for ideas, have I got the burger for you! I was looking for something other than the traditional burger to cook and, after perusing the Food Network web site, I came across these recipes from Rachael Ray. Don’t get me wrong – I love me a good burger but sometimes, a girl just has to mix it up. πŸ™‚ The recipe says to cook these burgers in a skillet because ground chicken isn’t as sturdy as ground beef in patty form – it wants to fall apart. I cooked these on the grill because I have a nifty vegetable pan for my grill that is perfect for veggies (of course!), shrimp and – wait for it – chicken burgers! I thought about making them in a skillet but well, I have a perfectly fabulous grill and why wouldn’t I want to use it?! You could even use a grill pan or a griddle, if you wanted to – just make sure it’s non-stick or that you remember to spray it because chicken can be notoriously sticky and you don’t want to flip the burger only to leave the top part behind.

The burgers were really quite tasty and the slaw was a delicious topping. One of the positives touted about the slaw was that it was perfect for picnics because it doesn’t contain mayonnaise. I think the real positive about the slaw was the mellowness from the olive oil and the sweetness from the relish and honey. The lemon juice definitely added a nice acidity to balance the sweetness. It was really quite good! I make a pretty mean pulled pork sandwich and am considering using this slaw with those sandwiches in the future. Yummy!

burger

BBQ Chicken Burgers with Slaw
Yield: 4 servings

1 tablespoon butter, cut into pieces
1 small red onion, Β½ finely chopped, Β½ thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 teaspoon sugar
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon hot sauce
1 ΒΌ lbs ground chicken
1 tablespoon grill seasoning (like McCormick)
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
2 tablespoons honey
1 lemon, juiced
3 rounded tablespoons sweet pickle relish
2 cups shredded cabbage mix
Salt and pepper
4 cornmeal Kaiser rolls, split

1. In a small skillet over medium heat, melt butter. Add chopped onions, garlic and tomato paste and sweat them for 5 minutes to soften and sweeten. Sprinkle in sugar and remove from heat. Cool in a bowl, 5 minutes. Add tomato paste mixture, Worcestershire, hot sauce to bowl and combine. Add chicken to the bowl then grill seasoning and combine the burgers well to evenly distribute the flavors and form 4 patties. Wash up.

2. Heat 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, a turn of the pan, in a non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Cook patties 6 minutes on each side.

3. Combine the honey, lemon juice, and remaining extra-virgin olive oil in a bowl. Add relish, cabbage mix and sliced onions and season with salt and pepper. Toss the slaw to coat and reserve.

slaw

4. Serve burgers on bun bottoms topped with slaw and bun tops. (yes, this instruction is actually in the recipe!)

fries

Texas Oven Fries
Serves 4

4 large russet potatoes, scrubbed and dried
2-3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
Salt and pepper
1 tablespoon chipotle chili powder

1. Heat oven to 500 degrees.

2. Cut potatoes into Texas fries, 10 per potato. Coat in extra-virgin olive oil, then season with chipotle powder, salt and pepper and roast 25 minutes, turning once.

*None of these Rachael Ray recipes comes with nutritional information. In fact, MOST of the recipes on the Food Network site don’t have nutritional information. I think they should provide it but maybe it’s too much work, I don’t know. I, for one, think it would be beneficial to them AND the people who try the recipes. Okay, that’s enough soapbox – it just frustrates me, that’s all.

Leave a Reply

