Cool new gear, A lesson in patience & It Takes Stew, Baby

It’s finally Friday!

image

Check out these cool car magnets I got!

image

I found an awesome race medal hanger on Gone for a Run and, after perusing their site, spotted the cute magnets. (Picture of the medal hanger coming!) They have a lot of cool products! I even got one of the running hats with 2 zipper pockets to stash my keys, money, gels, etc. So handy especially since some running shorts are pocketless. Sure, cute is nice but functional is so much better for a long run. I have some cute AND functional running shorts/skorts so it’s clearly possible to do both. Not sure why some companies are lagging behind. Oh well, doesn’t matter to me because I have a cool new hat! And, it’s pink so it’s even cooler. Can’t wait to wear it!

image

Which, honestly, isn’t going to happen anytime soon. My leg hurts when I walk these guys so running is definitely out of the question. 😦

image

Still waiting to hear back from my doctor. :/ I know, I know, I shouldn’t have pushed it this week. I’m resting it. I promise.

Cooking for two

No, not THAT kind of two. Sheesh! One birdie just left – I am NOT trying to refill our nest. Thing 2 is gainfully employed and, with her work schedule, I have less mouths to feed. And, since I’m really the only one who eats the leftovers, I’m trying to cut down on the “feeds a football team” recipes. πŸ™‚

Found this recipe in my Abs Diet Cookbook. Yes, the name is ridiculous. No, I didn’t make it up. But, the meal is delicious! I used a 15 ounce can of cannellini beans instead of 10 ounce but I don’t think it made it overly “bean-y.” It was a perfectly light, healthy and tasty dinner that came together in no time. Om nom nom!

image

It Takes Stew, Baby
Makes 2 servings

2 cups roughly torn baby spinach
1/2 cup diced red bell pepper
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 can (10.5 ounces) cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup cubed precooked chicken
1/2 cup fat-free reduced sodium chicken broth
Salt and pepper

In a nonstick skillet over medium-low heat, saute the spinach, peppers, and garlic in oil for 2 minutes, turning often. Add the beans and chicken. Saute 1 minute more. Add the broth. Simmer for 10 minutes. Add salt and pepper.

image

Nutritional info:
Calories 311; Protein 27g; Carbs 43g; Fat 4g (saturated 0.5g); Sodium 420.5mg; Fiber 11g

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

