I biked! And the best orange sherbet ever!

I biked! I know, I know, I said I wasn’t going to do it until I checked with the physical therapist but I’ve been doing some research and biking is actually used as therapy for groin/leg injuries. And, I tested it out when I got home last night. No pain or strain at all! Man, was I excited for this morning!

image

I got a great 45 minutes in of hills, sprints, hill sprints, hovers, etc. I was a big sweaty mess when I was done. Love that! πŸ™‚

And then I was hungry. Om nom nom! It’s always good when your snack smiles at you.

image

What’s your favorite post-workout snack?

So, let’s talk sherbet. I made some fresh orange sherbet last weekend. Thing 2 loves orange sherbet but if you ever look at the ingredients, they’re a little scary. Anything you make fresh at home trumps store-bought every time. And, you can be guaranteed that you can pronounce all the ingredients. Always a bonus!

I found this recipe in my Cook’s Illustrated “The New Best Recipe” cookbook. Everything I’ve made from this book has been amazing! You’ll need an ice cream maker for this. If you don’t have one, well, you need to go to the store and buy one. Seriously. This sherbet is so worth it.

The major ingredient is orange juice, of course, but not just any old orange juice. You need to find unpasteurized, fresh-squeezed orange juice. The book says that pasteurized OJ will not taste as fresh and don’t, under any circumstances, use from concentrate. That won’t taste good at all. Unpasteurized OJ is out there; you just have to look.

image

Oh, and there’s liquor in there. Just 2 teaspoons so it’s not like it’s drunk sherbet or anything. Haha! I used Triple Sec because it’s orange flavored and it seemed like the right choice. And I think it was! The final product was perfect – light, orangy without being overwhelming, and delicious. Better than anything you can get out of your grocer’s freezer, that’s for sure! Om nom nom!

Sherbet – love or not?
What’s your favorite flavor?

image

Fresh Orange Sherbet
makes about 1 quart

1 tablespoon grated zest from 1 to 2 oranges
1 cup (7 ounces) sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 cups orange juice, preferably unpasteurized fresh-squeezed
3 tablespoons juice from 1 or 2 lemons
2 teaspoons Triple Sec or vodka
2/3 cup heavy cream

1. Process the zest, sugar, and salt in a food processor until damp, ten to fifteen 1-second pulses. With the machine running, add the orange juice and lemon juice in a slow, steady stream; continue to process until the sugar is fully dissolved, about 1 minute. Strain the mixture through a nonreactive fine-mesh strainer into a medium bowl; stir in the Triple Sec or vodka, then cover with plastic wrap and chill in the freezer until very cold, about 40 degrees, 30 to 60 minutes. (Alternatively, set the bowl over a larger bowl containing ice water.) Do not let the mixture freeze.

2. When the mixture is cold, using a whisk, whip the cream in a medium bowl until soft peaks form. Whisking constantly, add the juice mixture in a steady stream, pouring against the edge of the bowl. Immediately start the ice cream machine and add the juice-cream mixture to the canister; churn until the sherbet has the texture of soft-serve ice cream, 25 to 30 minutes.

image

3. Remove the canister from the machine and transfer the sherbet to a storage container; press plastic wrap directly against the surface of the sherbet and freeze until firm, at least 3 hours. (The sherbet can be wrapped well in plastic wrap and frozen for up to one week.) To serve, let the sherbet stand at room temperature until slightly softened and in instant-read thermometer inserted into the sherbet registers 12 to 15 degrees.

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

