A movie, some snacks & Vinegar Chicken (Chicken Adobo)

Hello!

And we’re back to Monday. *sigh*

image

My sailor and I try to go out on “dates” when we can. It’s too easy to get stuck just hanging around the house. We have to reclaim our coupleness instead of just being parents all the time. πŸ™‚ Yesterday, we went to the movies!

image

Of course, we had to have snacks!

image

The movie was really good! I was sucked in right from the start and didn’t even want to look away to make sure I got my soda straw in my mouth. Haha! Great story, great acting and great cinematography. Definitely, definitely go see it!

Dinner was a recipe from my childhood. This was one of my favorites! I’m not certain where my mom got the recipe but my sister and I never complained when she was making it. πŸ™‚

Chicken Adobo cooks in vinegar with some garlic and soy sauce. The aroma is amazing and totally fills the house. I remember coming in from playing outside and smelling the vinegar. The first time, we were like “ew, that stinks!” And then we tasted it. From then on, when we came in from outside and smelled the vinegar chicken, you’d have thought we won the lottery. YES!

image

I’ve made this recipe for many of our friends and the Things’ friends. Not a single complaint. πŸ™‚

What are your favorite food memories from your childhood?

Mine are chicken adobo and chicken curry. Om nom nom!

Did you see any movies this weekend? What did you see?

Chicken Adobo (also known as Vinegar Chicken)

image

Chicken thighs
6 garlic cloves, chopped
6 black peppercorns
2 bay leaves
1/2 cup white vinegar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
Pinch salt

1. Bring all ingredients to a simmer in a large skillet. Add chicken thighs and turn to coat.

2. Bring back to a simmer. Cook about 30 minutes (less for boneless), covered, basting once or twice. Remove chicken and pat dry. Skim fat and keep sauce warm.

3. Heat a thin film of oil in pan; add chicken and brown on both sides. Arrange chicken on warmed platter. Pour sauce over chicken and serve with rice.

image

Recipe from my mom’s kitchen. πŸ™‚

– jennifer

2 thoughts on “A movie, some snacks & Vinegar Chicken (Chicken Adobo)

  1. Pingback: Wine Wednesday – 2012 Bonterra Viognier | A Hungry Runner

  2. Pingback: Sunday Food Prep – what went down in my kitchen (7) | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

