Deadlifts. Lots of them. Chana ma-Chicken

Hello, hello! Did everyone survive Monday? I did….barely. πŸ™‚ It was touch and go there for a bit in the afternoon. I thought for sure Monday was going to strike back.

I started off with CrossFit before the butt-crack of dawn. Yes, I know that’s early.

image

Deadlifts, anyone? Oh, oh, OH! I did 2 double-unders! IN A ROW!!! Of course, once that happened, I was incapable of getting another one so I did a whole bunch of singles. 100 double-unders for time? Yeah, in maybe a week! Who has that kind of time?

And, no, I didn’t run. I rowed. Not quite ready for the running, yet. I also didn’t deadlift 155# pounds. That’s way more than I can even pick up off the floor! I scaled down to 105# and was able to knock out the workout without too many form breaks. Which is good. Doing deadlifts wrong isn’t good. I like good. πŸ™‚

I’m in my 3rd week of physical therapy. I rested my leg this past weekend – it was pretty tired after last week. Definitely the right thing to do. It’s feeling good and I’m working hard on rehabbing it. I am missing so much running! I don’t feel quite like myself these days. Must. Get. Better.

Dinner!

So, I totally created dinner yesterday. Normally, I have a list and a plan when I go grocery shopping but that didn’t happen this past weekend. I just shopped. Slightly scary. So, now I have to plan around what I bought. That stresses me out sounds like fun!

Anyway, I just browsed my pantry/fridge and here’s what I pulled out.

image

I used many of the same spices I used in Chana Masala – hence my “creative” name for this dish. I had considered “Indian-spiced Chicken” but Thing 2 shot me down. Whatever. Like she’s the expert on naming food dishes.

Anyway, regardless of what I named it, I can most definitely call it AMAZEBALLS!
image

The chicken was perfectly spiced, the vegetables were crisp-tender and it took less than 30 minutes! Win! The only thing I might do differently in the future is add raisins, dried cranberries or chopped apricots or something like that. A little sweet to contrast the savory. I’d add those at the same time as the bell peppers.

Question time!
1. Have you ever created a dish? How did it turn out?
2. Has an injury ever prevented you from doing what you love? How did you handle it? Help me!

Chana ma-Chicken
serves 4

2 teaspoons olive oil
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into strips
1 tablespoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon garam masala
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 garlic cloves, minced
1-inch knob fresh ginger, peeled and chopped
1/2 red onion, diced
1 yellow pepper, cut into strips
1 green pepper, cut into strips
Handful cherry tomatoes
Salt & pepper

1. Blend spices, coriander through cayenne, in a small bowl. Toss with chicken until coated. Set aside.

2. Heat oil in large skillet or wok over medium high heat. Add onion and saute about 3-4 minutes. Add garlic and ginger and cook, stirring constantly, about 1 minute. Add chicken. Cook 4-5 minutes, stirring frequently.

3. Add green and yellow peppers to pan and stir to incorporate. Cook 4-5 minutes, stirring frequently until chicken is done and peppers are crisp-tender. Add tomatoes and season with salt and pepper, if desired. Cook about 1-2 minutes more or until tomatoes are heated. Serve over rice, couscous, or on its own.

4. Om nom nom!

image

– jennifer

2 thoughts on “Deadlifts. Lots of them. Chana ma-Chicken

  1. Pingback: Sunday food prep – what went down in my kitchen (5) | A Hungry Runner

  2. Pingback: Crockpot Masala Chicken & Chickpeas | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

