I RAN! I biked! And then I ate French Toast, Italian-Style

Hello! I RAN THIS MORNING!

happydanceod5

I ran slow. I didn’t run far – just a mile. But, I ran!

I’m definitely not 100% yet. Most certainly not ready for the 20-miler my marathon training plan tells me I’m supposed to run on Saturday but, I’ve come a long way since the last time I ran. That was May 23rd, in case you were wondering. That’s a long time! Okay, so it is true that I’ve gone longer without running due to an injury but I wasn’t actively training for a marathon then. I guess I’m not really ACTIVELY training for one now, am I? *sigh* Anyway, I RAN!!!!

And then, I biked. 30 minute workout on my spin bike. Not quite as much fun as running but a good substitute. And I have fun music on my iPod. Okay, I have music that I think is fun on my iPod. What, you’ve never spun to Disney songs before? πŸ™‚

And then, I was hungry. Like, really hungry. So, I made French Toast. But, not just any French Toast. No syrup, no plain old bread dipped in an egg-wash. Nope. I made French Toast, Italian-Style. Which is kinda like stuffed French Toast without all the extra fat and guilt that goes along with it. And, it was packed with protein! Which is good because healing muscles need protein. Of course, right now my leg muscles have to share the protein with my shoulder muscles – thank you very much, hanging snatch WOD! So, I just added an additional protein source to round out my breakfast. I win. πŸ™‚

I found this recipe in my Abs Diet Cookbook. This recipe contains 4 powerfoods (according to the book): almonds, dairy, whole grains, and berries. Or maybe it’s 5 since there is an egg involved. Maybe they didn’t count the berries? I don’t know. It was delicious. And easy. And I want another one. Om nom nom!

Question time!
1. What’s on your workout playlist?
2. Pancakes or French Toast?

image

French Toast, Italian-Style
serves 1
*if you have time, let the ricotta come to room temp so it is easier to spread

2 tablespoons part-skim ricotta cheese
2 slices whole grain bread (I used Arnold’s 100% Whole Wheat sandwich thins – still delicious!)
1 teaspoon honey
1 tablespoon sliced almonds
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 egg
1 tablespoon 1% milk
Handful of fresh berries (strawberry, blueberry, blackberry)

1. Spread the ricotta on 1 bread slice. Drizzle the honey over the ricotta, top with the sliced almonds, and sprinkle lightly with the cinnamon. Top with the remaining bread to form a sandwich. (That’s what the recipe says. I’m not trying to say you don’t know how to make a sandwich.)

2. Coat a nonstick skillet or griddle with cooking spray and heat over medium heat. Whisk the egg, milk and any remaining cinnamon in a shallow bowl. Dip the sandwich into the egg to coat both sides. Place in the pan and cook until the bread is lightly browned on both sides. Serve with the berries.

image

Per serving:
Calories 330; Protein 18g; Carbohydrates 43g; Fat 10g (saturated 3.5g); Sodium 340mg

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

