Birthday … burpees??? Eat the Bowl Bean Salsa

Hello! It’s Wednesday!

hooray wednesday!

Okay, honestly, that cat has way more energy than I do right now. You see, I went to CrossFit last night.

image

Brutal workout. The “filthy 40” in honor of one of the coaches’ 40th birthday. I prefer to celebrate my birthday with wine and cake. He clearly prefers to punish people. With burpees.
image

And other things. Like kettlebell swings.

image

Then, for some reason, I thought it was a good idea to get up before any sane person this morning and go to CrossFit AGAIN. 12 hours later. What’s wrong with me? #canyousayaddict

image

More burpees. Yay.

You’re probably wondering what an MU is. Muscle up.

Yeah.

*sigh* I miss running. But, you know what? I LOVE CrossFit! I really do! One day, I’ll post a video of me doing a muscle up. One day. It might be a while so don’t hold your breath waiting. You will definitely perish. That would be bad.

With all this extra CrossFit I’ve been doing, I need to make sure I’m getting plenty of protein to help repair my muscles. Plus, protein will help heal my muscle strain so I can get back out the door and run! And yes, CrossFit helps too because it’s building strength. Most muscle strains that derive from overuse injuries are usually caused by a strength imbalance and a lack of stretching. So, I’m building strength, making sure I stretch and gobbling up protein!

I found this recipe in my Abs Diet Cookbook. It’s essentially a salad/salsa that you eat out of a red pepper bowl. I. Love. Red. Pepper. LOVE. Super easy, yummy, healthy and a change-up in your lunchbox! Of course, you could serve this at dinner time, too so don’t feel like it’s only a lunch food. I’ve paired it with some additional protein – tuna – and some more veggies because, well, veggies are good. You could certainly add some avocado or guacamole to this dish if you have it. Om nom nom!

Guacamole – yay or nay?
Is it just me or is everyone tired today?

image

Eat the Bowl Bean Salsa
makes 2 servings

1 can (15 ounce) black beans, rinsed and drained
2 medium tomatoes, diced
2 tablespoons frozen orange juice concentrate
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro (you can certainly sub parsley if you’re not a cilantro fan)
salt
2 large red bell peppers

1. Mix the beans, tomatoes, orange juice concentrate, and cilantro in a small bowl. Season with salt. Refrigerate at least 30 minutes to allow the flavors to blend.

2. Slice the top off of the peppers and scoop out the core and the seeds. Fill with the bean mixture. Gobble it up.

Per serving:
Calories 282; Fat 2.4g (saturated .1g); Sodium 669mg; Protein 14.7g; Carbohydrates 49.4g

– jennifer

3 thoughts on “Birthday … burpees??? Eat the Bowl Bean Salsa

    • Oh no! That’s terrible about your shoulder! Hope everything has healed up properly! (Sorry. I have been known to overuse the exclamation point.) !!! πŸ™‚

      • Thank you πŸ™‚
        It’s still a work in progress… my shoulder, not the muscle up, but CrossFitter’s aint no quitters!!!!!!!! (exclamation worth making! ;-))

Leave a Reply

