Cajun Blackened Turkey Cutlets

Hi there!

funny-monday-picture-quotes-15-funny-monday-morning-quotes-and-the-two-reasons-why-you-feel-51635

I hope everyone had a good weekend. I did but I sure was sad last night knowing that it was coming to an end! And, honestly, sometimes it’s hard to get up at 3:30 a.m. on a Monday morning – no matter HOW much I love CrossFit! But, of course I did and, as usual, I’m glad I went. πŸ™‚

image

And, Hodgie, the newest coach is just so motivating. πŸ™‚

image

So, I got some new reading material.

image

They came on Saturday and I am so excited about trying some new recipes! For me, the thought of the Paleo diet is more about trying to cut out extra sugar and unnecessary carbs rather than eliminating them completely. I believe that knowledge is power and learning new ways to look at food or new ideas for recipes can only benefit my health, as well as my family’s, and my fitness. So, of course, I flipped through the books and picked out some recipes to try this week!

So, how do you feel about Southern food? More specifically, about blackening seasoning? Have you ever looked for blackening seasoning at your grocery store? Have you ever read the ingredients? Perhaps it’s the store I shop in the most (Wal-Mart) but I can’t seem to find one that DOESN’T have MSG in it. MSG is no bueno. So, when I saw a recipe that included a quick recipe for blackening seasoning, I knew it was fate. These turkey cutlets were begging to be made!

WARNING: These cutlets were SPICY. If you don’t like spicy, well, please keep reading but this recipe (or more specifically, the seasoning) is probably not for you. (Just use a different seasoning!) But, they were oh, so good. Also, I had a MAJOR sneezing fit while the cutlets were cooking. Like, MAJOR. Seriously.

sneezy

So, consider yourself warned.

But, the sneezing was worth it. I also made some super easy sweet potato fries (recipe on my Facebook page!) and some steamed broccoli to complete our paleo meal. Om nom nom!

image

Cajun Blackened Turkey Cutlets
makes 4 servings

1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon oregano
2 teaspoons cayenne powder
2 teaspoons white pepper
4 6-ounce turkey cutlets, pounded thin with tenderizer tool
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1. Combine paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, oregano, and peppers. Place spice mixture in a large plastic bag and add turkey. Close bag and shake well to thoroughly coat turkey.

2. Heat oil in a cast iron skillet over high flame. Add turkey and cook for 10 minutes, turning at the halfway point. Remove from skillet and tent with foil for five minutes.

image

Recipe from The Paleo Diet Cookbook

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

