Hooray! It’s W(h)ine Wednesday!

It’s W(h)ine Wednesday!

Hooray!

Aren’t you excited?

Let’s start with the whine.  That way I can end with the Wine. 🙂

Crossfit yesterday was full of highs and lows and I’m not talking about the weights I pushed around.

image

We were in the middle of DROM (dynamic range of motion) and getting ready to do some “imaginary sack” races.  You know the kind – you PRETEND you’re stepping in a sack and then you race/hop off to the finish line. So, I stepped into my sack and got ready. Coach said, “GO!” and I hopped one hop and felt a pop in my foot and I stopped.  Hop. Pop. Stop.

image

Cuss. A LOT!

Where’s Dr. Seuss when you need him?

So, I know I’ve mentioned that I deal with plantar fasciitis and heel spurs. Well, that’s the foot that popped. I’ve never felt anything like that before. I can’t believe how much it hurt. So, of course, I sat out the workout and went home shook it off and pushed through the workout because “taking it easy” and “Jennifer” are not synonymous. Perhaps I need to work on that.

So, now I’m resting it – didn’t go to CrossFit this morning 😦 – and icing it. I have a feeling this water bottle may become my new best friend. I really wasn’t in the market for a new best friend.

image

At this rate, I may have to change my blog name to “An Injured Runner.” Seriously, could I fall apart a little less, please?

potato head

Now, I’ll take the h out of whine and use it for the word – HAPPY!

I know. My emotions are a little all over the place.

3034231225_923e75f052

Anyway, the point of the WOD yesterday was to build up to our 1 rep max on back squats, deadlifts, and strict press. And, in spite of my foot, I managed to set a personal best in all 3!

I back squatted 100# (up from 90#), deadlifted 140# (up from 120#!!!) and managed 65# (up from 55#) on the strict press.  Here’s what all of  that looks like:

I tried so hard to press 70# but I couldn’t quite get it. But, I will!

Okay, now for the WINE!

image

I love THIS kind of wine Wednesday. I love wine. I’m okay with Wednesdays in general. Fridays are better but at least it isn’t Monday!

image

empty bottle = delicious!

I found this gem at the Publix. That’s a grocery store, if you’re not familiar. I’d rank it with a really nice Safeway but not quite a Wegman’s. It cost $14.99. So, definitely reasonable. What made me look at it? The label, of course! Seriously, 2 rogue looking cherubs and some grape splatters in the name print? I HAD to pick it up!

This wine is a 50/50 blend of malbec and cabernet sauvignon from the Colchagua Valley in Chile. The Colchagua Valley is pretty much smack in the middle of Chile and is one of the country’s best known wine regions. They regularly produce cabernets, syrahs, and malbecs with terrific results. Because the climate is always hot, the wines produced are usually full-bodied and have concentrated fruit flavors. So, basically, you’re looking at a slightly heavier tasting wine than a pinot noir with good fruit “chewiness” without being overly grape-y. It’s just the right amount. I mean, who wants to drink grape jelly?

image

Blending malbec (usually an inky, dark red with lots of fruit) with cabernet (not quite as inky with rich red fruit and berry flavors) is a delicious combination. YUM! This wine is big without being overpowering, has great fruit flavors that mellow into some oaky wood flavors that are just to die for. It will definitely be a great accompaniment with grilled meats, hearty pastas and stews and even spicy chilis. Om nom nom!

And, at $15, it’s practically a steal!

Find it, try it, and let me know how you like it!  Bottom’s up! 🙂

– jennifer

Leave a comment