Lightning bolts. Making new friends. Coffee-Rubbed Steak.

Hello! Happy Thursday!

weekend coming

So, at about 6:00 p.m. last night, I had a stroke of genius. Seriously. It was like a lightning bolt from the sky. I may have been inspired by the RAGING thunderstorms and sideways rain yesterday.

graphics-thunderstorm-604416

Anyway, I came up with a PERFECT title for my blog post! Well, yesterday’s blog post. After I’d already posted it. *sigh*

Why can’t I think of these things BEFORE I post them?

Is it too late to change the title?

Think anyone would notice?

From now on, yesterday’s blog is “Hop, Pop, Stop, W(h)ine.”

See?! Creative genius! πŸ™‚

Speaking of pop, my foot is feeling much better than it did. I’ve been faithfully icing it and stretching it and my water bottle has two new friends.

image

Thank goodness I have a box of Kleenex handy because using the golf ball to get rid of the scar tissue makes me want to cry a little.

pain is weakness

And, because protein has been known to help aid the process of injury recovery, I decided some steak was in order. πŸ™‚

Here’s a great article on Food for Injury Recovery.

you know you're a runner

Seriously, the damage to the body is important. Treat your body right and heal and then, go running!

I know, I know. I need to listen to myself a little more. I think the Pop! on Tuesday was a warning shot. It really could have been so much worse but it isn’t. So, I’m doing what I should have been doing all along. Hey, better late than never, right?!

Anywho, steak. With a coffee rub. Stay with me. I promise it’s delicious. The coffee plus some chili powder really works and totally enhances the flavor of the beef. It’s smokey, robust, and kinda crusty on the outside and the steak retains it’s juiciness (um, seriously, make sure you let it rest otherwise you will let all the juices escape).

image

And, topped with the pico de gallo (make your own or buy some pre-made – Walmart carries premade in the produce section and it’s pretty good!) and a squirt of lime, the flavors just Pop! But, this time, in a good way.

And, sorry, I forgot to take a picture with the pico de gallo. I was hungry. Sue me.

Om nom nom!

image

Coffee-Rubbed Steak
makes 4 servings

1/2 tablespoon finely ground coffee or espresso
1/2 tablespoon chili powder
Salt and black pepper to taste
1 pound flank or skirt steak
Pico de Gallo
1 lime, quartered

1. Preheat a grill, grill pan, or cast iron skillet. Combine the coffee grounds with the chili powder plus a few generous pinches of salt and pepper. Rub the spice mixture all over the steak. Cook the steak for 3 to 4 minutes per side, depending on the thickness, until slight firm by still yielding.

2. Let the steak rest for at least 5 minutes, then slice thinly against the grain of the meat. Serve with a big scoop of the pico de gallo and a wedge of lime.

image

Per serving:
Calories 270; Fat 15g (saturated 6g); Sodium 600mg

Recipe from Cook This, Not That!

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

