Get out of the way, I’m trying to squat! & some Southwest Turkey Tenderloin Stew

Hello, hello! Happy Wednesday!

time to start the weekend

I wish. πŸ™‚

So, I’ve been going to Crossfit at least 5 days a week – sometimes 6 if I make it for a Saturday workout. Because I’m hoping to be able to run again soon (and I prefer to do that in the morning), I go to the 5pm class on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I’m up wicked early for the 5am class on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.

I love the 5am class. The group is laid back and fun and we all really push and motivate each other. The 5pm class is great, too, but…well…sometimes, there are just too many people. Like yesterday. The box was packed! Our workout was two things – chest to bar pull ups and front squats (hello, 75#!!!).

image

Do you know hard it is to do chest to bar pull ups when the pull up racks are crowded? Um. Yeah. And, because it’s a timed workout and everyone wants to get a good time, everyone placed their barbells for the front squats near the pull up racks – yes, I’m guilty of that too! So, it was like a maze/obstacle course to get around the people doing pull ups, the barbells on the floor, and the people actively squatting (ha! That sounds funny.) to get back and forth! I guess that adds to the challenge of the WOD but, honestly, I wasn’t thrilled. I’m kinda claustrophobic anyway and all those people in one area was just a little much for me. Don’t get me wrong – I’m totally STOKED that all those people were in there working out, but I had really been looking forward to that workout all day and was just frustrated because of the busy. How do you deal when there’s a ton of people in a workout class and space/bars/weights are limited?

Oh, and I’M *THISCLOSE* TO GETTING A STRICT PULL UP!!!!! *happy dance*

This morning’s workout was a lot less busy – thank goodness! And, it was a tough one. Hoo boy! Overhead squats and front rack lunges – O.M.G.

image

The prescribed weight was 65# for both and I’m just not there yet. I managed all 4 rounds of the overhead squats with 35# (go me!) and did the front rack lunges at 55#. My booty is definitely going to be feeling this workout for a few days!

Comfort Food – Day 3!

One of the best things about last night’s workout was having dinner ready and waiting for me when I got home. I love turkey tenderloins and, when I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it. And, um, hello, CROCKPOT! Oh, and, is it just me or has anyone else noticed that my comfort foods have a decidedly southwestern flair to them? Hmm…..I don’t think I even realized that southwestern food was that important to me! It’s not like I grew up eating a ton of it. I spent a good part of my childhood overseas in Belgium and Iceland. Not a whole lot of southwestern flair there! Hmm….interesting…..

Anyway, this stew was amazing to come home to! I ladled up a nice bowl full of vegetables, chunks of turkey, and a lightly spicy sauce. If you want more heat, up the ante on your chili powder and salsa. Kick it up a notch! Turkey breast tenderloins are naturally low in fat and jam packed with protein, plus they really take on the flavors of their crockpot “mates” making them an excellent choice in this stew. πŸ™‚

image

Okay, I’ll be honest. My sailor and I did all the prep work the night before and left it up to Thing 2 to throw it all in the crockpot. I forgot to mention the salsa and she forgot to read the recipe as I directed her to and, well, the salsa got left out. As did the garlic. That was all nicely chopped and stored in a cutie-pie little container. And this stew was still delicious! But, I can’t wait to make it again and get all of the stuff in there! I’m definitely going to add a little more spice and use medium salsa and maybe some ancho chile pepper instead of regular chili powder. Om nom nom!

image

Southwest Turkey Tenderloin Stew
makes 6 servings

1 package (about 1 1/2 pounds) turkey tenderloins, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 red bell pepper, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
1 green bell pepper, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
3/4 cup chopped red or yellow onion
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 can (15 1/2 ounces) chili beans in spicy sauce, undrained
1 can (14 1/2 ounces) chili-style stewed tomatoes, undrained
3/4 cup prepared salsa or picante sauce
Fresh cilantro (optional)

1. Place turkey in slow cooker. Sprinkle chili powder, cumin and salt over turkey; toss to coat. Add red bell pepper, green bell pepper, onion, garlic, beans, tomatoes, and salsa. Mix well.

2. Cover and cook on LOW 5 hours or until turkey is no longer pink in center and vegetables are crisp-tender. Ladle into bowls. Garnish with cilantro, if desired.

image

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

