Tomorrow is National S’mores Day & it’s time for a weekly Crossfit Round-Up!

Hooray! It’s Friday!!

Woohoo

So, I have some very, very, very important news to share!

Very Important Message is

Tomorrow (Saturday, August 10) is National S’mores Day!

17-happy-dance

Will you be celebrating? I know I will! And, I have just the thing to make!

image

Better than regular s’mores! (imho) Click the photo for the recipe on my Facebook page. πŸ™‚ Om nom nom!

Yes, a traditional s’mores is yummy. I. Love. S’mores. But, if you could take the s’more to a slightly higher level, wouldn’t you want to just to see how it tastes? I mean, if you don’t like it, you can give it to me. πŸ˜€

I’ll take one for the team.

Because, I care about your happiness.

Om nom nom!

Okay, okay, moving on.

I haven’t told you about a SINGLE Crossfit workout this week! What is the matter with me?! You probably think I didn’t go. Not true. Except for Wednesday. That day I didn’t go. That morning was crazy. Tuesday NIGHT was crazy. Oy.

Anyway, here’s what went down at the Box this week:

Monday

image

I’m not quite up to 95# on the front squats yet. I did 75# and those were hard, hard, HARD! Um, and BJ is Box Jumps. Get your mind out of the gutter! Push-ups were chest-to-desk hand release push-ups. Hard! It was a great workout!

We also had fun afterwards. πŸ™‚

image

Tish giving Joe a sleigh ride. πŸ™‚

Tuesday

image

ugly, ugly board!

Holy. Hard.

You certainly wouldn’t think that a workout in 4 minutes would be tough but, guess what? 4 minutes is a LOOOOONG time when you’re doing 65# squat clean thrusters! I managed 19 of those. I didn’t think I’d get 10 done so I was over-the-moon stoked with that number! Then, I knocked out 41 of the power cleans. Those things will wear you out!

image

Got this great shirt, too!

Wednesday

Yeah, that didn’t happen. 😦

Thursday

image

An “active recovery” day on the rower. We played the “fish game”, 3 rounds. The “fish game” lasts 4 minutes and the object is to eat as many fish as possible and not get eaten by the mean fish. You get points for each fish you eat and you lose points if you get eaten. Your rowing speed moves your fish up and down. Um, the fish sinks a whole lot faster than it rises NO MATTER HOW HARD OR FAST you’re rowing. It was challenging but FUN!

image

And then we flipped tires. Because, you know, we can. πŸ™‚

Friday

I forgot to take a picture of the white board! 😦 But, here’s what we did:

400m Indian Run with Telephone Game (I didn’t get to play. I rowed. Boo.)

Warm-up:
15 air squats
20 donkey kicks
25 sit ups
10 push ups
5 pull ups

WOD: 10 minutes EMOM (Every Minute on the Minute)
– 3 Hang Power Snatch
– 2 Overhead squat
– 1 Hanging Squat Snatch

Okay, that workout seems like it would be easy because it’s only 6 reps but don’t let those small numbers fool you. All of those moves are TOUGH! I stuck with the 35# bar because 1. that’s where I’m at on the overhead squat and 2. I really wanted to make sure I learn the form for the Snatch before I really put up the weight. The Snatch is one of the most difficult moves to do. Do it wrong and it’s not going to do you any good.

Then, we finished up with some sleigh pushes. Because, you know, it’s Friday.

Hope everyone has had a great week!

Questions:

1. Do you love s’mores? What’s your favorite non-traditional way to make them?

2. What did your workouts look like this week?

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

