Things you need to get started running

Hello, hello!

How is everyone this FINE Tuesday?

I changed it up a little this morning and hopped on my spin bike!

Okay, fine, so I didn’t HOP on my spin bike. Sheesh. I SAT down on my spin bike and cued up some random songs on my iPod (that means I opted for shuffle and my music collection is like a box of chocolates…you never know what you’re gonna get) and made a big, sweaty mess of myself in my living room.

Forrest Gump

You know what really stinks? I mean BESIDES me after riding my spin bike. Good grief! That awful moment when you’re browsing a box of chocolates and you look at the lid to see what’s what and the chocolates are in the wrong order and you get a coconut one! Blech!

Anywho, I rode the bike. And it was good. I will CrossFit later. But, I would have rather been running.

running

But, I’m not quite there yet. *sigh*

Soon.

But, that doesn’t mean YOU can’t go for a run! In fact, you totally should and I shall live vicariously through you and the distance you cover!

No, running to the fridge or the bathroom doesn’t count.

So, let’s say you want to start running….

cat-saying-hooray1

What do you need to get started?

shoes

You definitely need a good pair of shoes!

No, that does not mean, go to the Target and buy sneakers or what looks like a pair of running shoes. It also doesn’t mean that you should go to the Sports Authority or other big box sporting good store and get some shoes from there. If you are just getting started, you definitely need to find your local running store (gasp!) and speak to someone there. They are trained to help you find the right pair of shoes for you. Some places even have treadmills and cameras and they can evaluate your footfalls and help find the perfect shoe for you! Yes, it may cost a little more money but, I promise you, it’s worth it. Plus, most stores have an exchange policy within 30 days of purchasing a running shoe – if it’s not comfortable or you decide you don’t like it, you can bring it back and exchange it! Now, you gotta love that! And you know Target won’t let you do that.

Running gear

Get some running gear! You don’t want to go for a run in your jeans (although, if that’s what floats your boat, then go on with your bad self!) or your snazzy business suit or, even worse, your jammies. Please, no footie pajamas traipsing through the neighborhood. Um, creepy.

This is when you can shop at Target! They actually have some pretty decent stuff. Running gear at a running store is going to be expensive and honestly, the only thing, gear wise, you need to spend money on is a good sports bra. Um, not you, guys. This part is for the girls. (ha! see what I did there? girls? get it? *sigh*.) Ladies, you definitely want to invest in a sports bra that will provide you the support that you need. Trust me, they’re out there.

But, as for shorts and a shirt, if you want to run in cotton, you can. I don’t prefer it. But, I sweat like it’s going out of style and cotton is oh-so-uncomfortable. I prefer tech gear. Plus, there is a lot of cute gear out on the market these days so you don’t have to sacrifice the cute factor just to take up a new sport. And, if you have a secret to staying cute while pounding out the miles, you better share it right now!

just go

Finally, you just need to go. Lace up your shoes, tuck your house key in a pocket, put your hair in a ponytail (if you have enough, that is. I don’t. Yet. I do little piggy tails. I think it’s cute. Don’t judge me.), and go out the front door. Don’t forget to shut the door behind you. Now, go run. Doesn’t matter how far. Just go. You’ll be happy that you did.

said no one ever

Question:

1. Do you enjoy running? What’s your favorite thing about running? What’s your least favorite thing?
My least favorite thing is chafing. Ugh. Seriously, it’s like punishment.

2. Runners: where’s your favorite place to buy your gear? Do you shop online or in a local store?

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

