Paleo Pot Roast

Hello, hello!

Happy Football Sunday!!

image

Whoop! My plan is to park my tush in a chair and watch all day long.

I love football Sundays!

Know what else is awesome about football Sundays? It means fall is right around the corner! And with fall comes stews, chilis, and roasts that take hours to cook. Yum!

Of course, if I want any of those things, I make them – even if it’s NOT fall. I no care. πŸ™‚

So, let’s talk about pot roast. I love pot roast! Well, I love the way pot roast smells when it’s cooking. Sometimes, though, I’m not a huge fan when it comes out of the oven. I really want to like it – I try so hard to like it! I just usually end up disappointed. *sigh*

Well, this recipe doesn’t disappoint! It’s simple, doesn’t require a big production to make it, and tastes as delicious as it smells. The meat is tender and juicy and nowhere near overdone, as often happens.

Pair with mashed sweet taters or squash and vegetables for a perfect paleo meal. Or, throw caution to the wind and whip up some regular mashed taters as a side. Either way, this pot roast recipe has made it into my “keeper” stack. Om nom nom!

image

Isola Pot Roast
serves 6-8

3-4 pounds lean pot roast
2 tablespoons olive oil
Freshly cracked black pepper
1 pound tomatoes, peeled
1 cup dry red wine
1 medium onion, chopped
1 cup celery, chopped
1 tablespoon minced parsley
2 teaspoons oregano
1 garlic clove, minced

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

2. Heat oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat; brown roast. Season with black pepper to taste.

3. Puree peeled tomatoes in a blender; pour over roast. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cover; bake 3-4 hours, checking occasionally. Add water, if necessary.

4. Serve it up and gobble it down!

image

Recipe from The Paleo Diet for Athletes

Question: Pot Roast – love it or hate it?

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

