Why do all my posts about birthdays include burpees?

Hello, hello!

Happy Monday!

garfield-monday-face

source

Actually, it really is a great Monday!

Today is Thing 1’s birthday!

Thing 1

She’s 21!!

stitch gif

source

Okay, I can’t believe it either.

I don’t feel old. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, let’s talk about burpees.

Seriously, don’t leave. ย Burpees are fun!

(do I sound convincing?)

We had a killer WOD this morning that included burpees.

image

If you’ve read any of my blog, you know that I hate burpees.

I mean, HATE.

I know they’re good for me – and you, too! – because they’re a body weight exercises that engages the whole body and gets your heart rate up for that all important calorie burn.

But, I just really, really, really stink at them.

I’m slower than molasses on a cold winter’s day when I do them.

There are days when stringing together more than 5 in a row is a challenge.

That has to stop.

I need to improve my burpees.

Maybe – okay, probably – it’s my form that’s the issue.

So, I googled “how do I get better at burpees?” and got quite a bit of information.

Yes, I really did! ย I’m sick, I know! ย But, there are way worse things I could google.

And, I really want to get better.

This article from CrossFit One World really hit home, especially about my form:

Burpee Abuse: A Crime Worth Noting

And then I saw this: 100 Day Burpee Challenge

I’m going to try this.

(I think I just vomited a little in my mouth.)

Okay, really, I’m going to do it.

I know I told you about the Pensacola Beach Brawl CrossFit competition that happened down here this weekend.

(pictures later – still downloading them all)

Well, my pals kicked BUTT and took 1st place in the Women’s Team Scaled event. ย Whoop!

Team Drop it like a Squat!

Team Drop it like a Squat!

One of the events they did included burpees with a jump over a barbell.

They killed those.

Those would have killed me.

I would really prefer that to be the other way around.

So, who’s with me?

Anyone? ย Anyone? ย Buehler? ย Buehler?

Questions: ย Can you believe tomorrow is October 1st?!?! ย GAH! ย Where did the year go?

– jennifer

4 thoughts on “Why do all my posts about birthdays include burpees?

Leave a Reply

