My first Murph and some Paleo chili

Hello!

Happy Monday!

Or so I thought until I went to CrossFit.

And I met Murph.

image

Oy.

Murph is a Hero WOD in honor of Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy of Patchogue, New York, who was killed in Afghanistan on June 28, 2005.

source

Apparently, that was his favorite workout.

It seems he had a sense of humor, that Lt. Murphy.

I think I probably would have liked him.

Even though he beat me up this morning.

HOLY. OW.

I broke up the pull-ups (blue banded – no way I was getting through a hundred of those babies without assistance), push-ups and airs squats into groups of 10, 20, and 30, respectively.

It was the only way I could see getting through it all.

Somewhere between 80 – 100 push-ups, I had to drop to my knees.

Left some of my left knee in the box.  Oh well.

Finished in 47:16.

That man was clearly a bad ass.

And I’m proud to have done that butt-kicking workout in his honor.

So, Karen blew in yesterday, dumped a whole lot of rain, and then blew out last night.

Sure was nice of her to stop by and give my driveway the swimming pool I’d been so hoping for.

image

She also brought with her a cold front!

Yay, fall temps!

I figured yesterday was going to be nasty and blech so I planned on chili for dinner.

I. LOVE. CHILI.

image

Decided to try a new recipe – Paleo chili.

I’m ALWAYS up for trying new things.

And this was worth it!

Found the recipe at www.robbwolf.com and I didn’t change a single thing.

It was delicious!

image

And, for those of you who tend to stay away from spicy food, this chili is for YOU!

Of course, if you want spicy, I suggest using some adobe chile pepper or additional cayenne pepper.

Or just pass the hot sauce at the table.

You know what I think really makes this chili?  The coffee. Yep – coffee.

I brewed some Italian Roast for this – figured the depth and robust flavor would really add pizzazz to the chili.

It did!

If you don’t want coffee, you can certainly substitute beef broth.

I suggest sticking with the coffee, though. Trust me!

image

Ultimate Paleo Chili
makes 6 servings
2 lbs lean ground beef (good) or grass-fed ground beef (best)
2 medium onions, chopped
1 large green bell pepper, chopped
1 large yellow bell pepper, chopped
3-5 cloves garlic, minced
1 (28 ounce) can tomato pureé
1 (14 ounce) can tomato sauce
1 1/2 cups coffee (substitute with broth if you prefer)
3 tablespoons chili powder
2 tablespoons ground cumin
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
2 teaspoon pumpkin pie seasoning (or substitute with 1 teaspoon cinnamon + 1 teaspoon nutmeg)
1/2 teaspoon cayenne (optional)
1 teaspoon sea salt + sprinkle
1 teaspoon pepper + sprinkle
1 tablespoon coconut oil
Avocado, for topping

1. Sauté onions and bell peppers in coconut oil over med-high heat in a large dutch oven or soup pot. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. About 5 minutes.

2. Add beef and garlic and cook until brown. About 7 minutes.

3. Add tomato pureé, tomato sauce, coffee and spices. Bring to a bowl, then reduce heat and simmer 1-2 hours.

4. Top with avocado and gobble it down! Om nom nom!

Question: What’s your favorite, go-to dish during fall and winter?

– jennifer

4 thoughts on “My first Murph and some Paleo chili

  1. I LOVE Murph! But i’m also a sucker for body weight ;). i tend to break it up into 20 rounds of “Cindy”-so 5 pull ups, 10 push ups and 30 squats. i don’t tend to burn out in it. We do Murph every memorial day-the first year I did it banded, with push ups on knees. THis year, all movements RX’d (10 weeks after having my baby-yikes.) but slow and no vest. Next year i’d like to get around 45 minutes, all movements RX with the vest on! progress!

    • Dude. First of all – Rx 10 weeks after giving birth? Now THAT’S bad ass! Secondly – with a vest?! I bow to your awesomeness!

      I actually enjoyed the WOD. I also appreciate body weight exercises. So simple and effective! My goal is to move toward Rx – especially with the pushups. I really feel like I should be able to do those regular. I actually can’t wait to do it again!

      • I love vests!! I would walk around in a weighted vest 24/7 if I was allowed-I just feel SO bad ass in them. Push ups actually took me awhile to do “right”-I didn’t get the whole keeping my hips straight and core tight until I did then pregnant on bars. You will definitely get RX next time!!

  2. Pingback: Mile Repeats and Motivation | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

