So many things: Water! Garlic-Lime Steak with Avocado Salsa! Shoulder burnout!

Hello. hello!

Happy Wednesday!

T-minus 5 days until the movers show up and start packing!

YIKES!

And, of course, today was shoulder/arm burnout day at CrossFit so I’m basically writing this with my arms firmly attached to my side.

Um, kinda got no energy to raise them.

Good thing I’m not in school because I’d never learn anything if I had to ask a question.

horshack3

source

Yeah, no way I’m doing that today.

Anyway, here’s what we did.

image

Don’t let the 75# Rx weight for women fool you.

It actually said 95# when we got there.

Um, yeah. None of us could do that.

I did 65#.

I might have been able to do 75# for the clusters but the floor presses were a different story.

By the time I got to the 4th round, I was struggling to press more than 3-4 in a row.

Holy. Hard.

And, because the coaches have a deranged sense of humor, battle ropes seemed like a good “cool down” after that WOD.

Hooray.

So, this morning, Molly decided that she wanted to snack on the leaves of some carnations that I got for Thing 2.

image

Sure, she looks cute and innocent. But, she’s a flower eater!

Molly loves plants. And flowers. And other things she shouldn’t eat.

image

She loves them so much, she sometimes can’t control herself.

She knocked over the vase.

Water. Everywhere.

At 4am.

Grrrrrrr.

Then, when I got home from CrossFit, I was doing some dishes after breakfast. Β Finished up and went to pick up my water bottle.

Apparently, the lid was not screwed on all the way.

Water. Everywhere.

GRRRRRRRR!

I’m afraid to do laundry.

Anywho, I made the most amazing steak for dinner yesterday!

I am the grill master.

grill master

source

OMG, it was topped with a fresh avocado salsa!

Seriously. Delicious.

image

And, I made some Dutch oven bread too!

Oh, my tummy was so happy!

Garlic-Lime Steak with Avocado Salsa
serves 4
recipe from Good Morning America (yes, really!)

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Juice and grated zest of 1 lime
1/4 cup seasoned rice vinegar or cider vinegar
1 teaspoon soy sauce
2 teaspoons garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 pound flank steak
1 avocado, peeled, pitted, and cubed
1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
2 cloves garlic, minced
Salt, to taste

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the olive oil, lime juice and zest, vinegar, soy sauce, garlic powder, and pepper. Set aside 2 tablespoons of the mixture. Add the steak to the bowl and toss to coat. Cover and set aside for 15 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, gently toss together the avocado, cilantro, garlic, and reserved 2 tablespoons of the lime marinade. Mix well, then season with salt. Set aside. Heat the grill to medium high and coat the racks with oil or cooking spray.

3. Grill the steak 6-8 minutes per side, depending on your preference. Allow to rest 5 minutes before slicing against the grain. Arrange the steak on a serving platter and serve topped with the avocado salsa.

4. OM. NOM. NOM.

The bread?

image

YUM!

I used the Lean Green Bean’s recipe for Foolproof Dutch Oven Bread.

Seriously, my new go-to bread recipe.

In fact, I think I need to go grab a slice.

And maybe slather it with some almond butter.

Because, you know, I’m hungry and all that jazz.

Questions: When it comes to grilling, do you prefer gas or charcoal? Β Are you the grill master in your house? What’s your favorite thing to grill?

– jennifer

2 thoughts on “So many things: Water! Garlic-Lime Steak with Avocado Salsa! Shoulder burnout!

Leave a Reply

