Re-evaluating goals & pushing forward

Hello, hello!

29769521562e3c46ca

source

So, did you guys watch the premier of American Idol last night?

We were totally DONE with that show after last season – seriously, I can’t remember, who won? – but, now that Harry Connick, Jr. is on the panel (um, hello, SMART & talented?!) and J.Lo. is back, we decided to give it a try.

We’ve always loved when Harry was a guest judge. He actually has valuable, constructive advice to give. So much more refreshing than, “yo, dawg, whaddup? I’m just not feeling it, yo. Just, naw, dawg, it wasn’t good.”

Oh. So helpful, Randy. Thanks.

And, don’t even get me started on Nicki and Mariah.

After a while, we kept the show on mute except for during the singing parts.

We think the combo of Harry, J.Lo. and Keith is awesome and definitely what the show needs. They’re all pretty knowledgable (although, I would never ask Jennifer for advice on song-writing) and they really want to treat the contestants like they’re actually people trying to reach a goal, and NOT just someone to laugh at.

That probably didn’t make any sense.

Made sense in my head. :/

And, moving on.

So, now we’re sucked back in and we have high hopes for this season! We’ve honestly been watching since the start and it’s good to see the changes that have been made. Put the focus back on the singers and not the drama queens and divas behind the table. πŸ™‚

Oh, anyway, guess I should talk about running or food or something seeing as my blog is “A Hungry Runner” and not “Reality TV reviewer.”

My body FINALLY felt strong enough and I got out for a short run this morning!

image

It felt pretty nice. I wanted to run on Tuesday but I honestly just didn’t
have it in me.

Hmm…apparently marathons take a lot out of a person.

Who knew?! haha

I know that I had mentioned possibly going for a BQ at Flying Pig in May but, I’ve been giving some serious thought about that goal.

My BQ time is 3:45 or faster and my fastest time ever is 4:09.

That was in 2010.

I was younger then.

So, because my training for Mississippi Blues took some hits and I wasn’t as prepared as I had wanted to be, I’m going into Flying Pig with a different preparation level.

I’m not sure pushing myself extremely hard is the right thing for my body – remember, I’ve also recently recovered from some injuries that kept me off the roads – so I’m only going to push myself really hard. Instead of extremely. Yes, there’s a difference. πŸ™‚

My goal for Flying Pig is to finally break 4 hours.

I can do it!

Motivational-Fitness-Workout-Quotes-49

A BQ will come, eventually. Maybe. We’ll see.

My plan is to follow a 3-day a week running plan and cross-train 3 days and rest one day.

I may swap a cross-train day with a slow run or I may add a slow run TO the cross-train day and do both.

Depends on how my body feels.

I’m not sure if the track at the high school in my town is open to the public so, guess I’m finally going to have to learn how to use my Garmin.

Apparently, I can set intervals and all that stuff.

Thank goodness I just found the instruction book the other day!

Technically, marathon training starts this week but…..I needed the break.

I’ll run a longish run on Saturday and hop into the plan on Monday.

I’m excited!

reach goal

source

Talk to me: Do you re-evaluate your goals? Do you feel comfortable changing them, if you need to?

– jennifer

6 thoughts on “Re-evaluating goals & pushing forward

  1. Hmm, probably a wise decision to set small goals. Time and consistency will reward you for sure. Most public school tracks are open to the public, just call the athletic director to be sure. For specific track-distance intervals, there is nothing like the oval. And for track, get a friend to come too. Misery loves company!

    I think consistent speed work will net you a BQ for sure. Just getting used to higher speeds and effort levels will make your easy runs faster. Still not sure about the Cross-fit though. And as for the age thing? You have ten years easy before you have to slow down. The key is consistency and patience. Oh yeah, don’t get hurt either. I think recovering from injury is way harder now than when we were younger. Did I mention that I am turning 40 tomorrow? My first run as a 40 year old will be a 20 miler in the mountains. I think that bodes well for the rest of the year!

    Also, if you are interested in crewing for a 100 miler, let me know. I think my friend AND his dad are running in June, so more crew is better for sure. Plus you and Chris could make a fun vacation out of it! It would be great to see you guys again!

    Aaron

    • I would LOVE to have a friend join me at the track. One problem – I haven’t made any here yet. I mean, I’ve met the neighbor and they’re not really what I would call “runners.” ha! But, it’s okay. I’m actually cool with doing the track work on my own. Once I get there, I’m motivated enough to do what I came to do. I kinda like the solitude. Thing 2 is going to ask about the track and public hours tomorrow. πŸ™‚ And, yes, getting hurt would be bad. So, I’m trying to pay real close attention to what my body is saying. Too many times, I’ve ignored it and that hasn’t worked out in my favor.

      As for the CrossFit, I really do love it. When I ran the 4:09 in Richmond, I had done a 5-week bootcamp program that literally kicked my butt. I mean, I was running AND doing bootcamp 3-4 days a week. I was in phenomenal shape! Then, I had emergency gall-bladder removal surgery in August and had to take 2 full weeks off from running. Richmond Marathon is mid-November. I tried to jump right back into my training plan but, I had to take it a little easier than planned. I know I would have broken 4 hours if I had been able to continue doing what I was doing. So, I know my body responds well to the strength work and it makes me stronger, both physically and mentally. I can’t wait to get back to it!!

      I know your birthday is tomorrow. πŸ™‚ Young’un! ;D I would be interested in crewing for the 100-miler. Not sure if I could get Chris to come out (lots of factors) and, honestly, if I get a job soon, I might not even be able to make it. Depends on leave time. And, if the 2nd kid decides to go to boot camp, too. But, I would still be interested in hearing about the where and when and what I would need to do. It’s been too long since we’ve seen each other!

  2. First of all, AWESOME Randy impression dawg! ;p
    Second, I’ve relied on running apps for my time/distance info, but they’ve proved somewhat UN-reliable and have it suggested I get a Garmin. What do you think of the Garmin you have? Easy to use/programme/understand?
    Thanks

    • Thanks, dawg! Haha. πŸ™‚

      I absolutely love my Garmin (Forerunner 110). It’s pretty simple – there are others with a whole lot more bells and whistles – but it does what I want it to. It tracks my distance, pace and overall time. I currently have it set at 1 mile splits (you can turn the split alarm off if you want so you don’t have to focus on it while you’re out on a long run) but it can be set at .25, .50, or .75 mile splits, too. I’ve got 800s to do tomorrow and I’m unsure if I can use the local high school track so I’m going to set it to .25 so I can incorporate my rest intervals into my work. It’s light, small (some of them are HUGE and I have small wrists) and comfortable to wear. It also charges pretty easily and I used it for 2 years before the battery crapped out.

      I’ve considered giving that runkeeper app a try but, I don’t listen to music when I run so, unless I’m on a long run, I generally don’t carry my phone with me. I should probably change that because you never know but … I just forget about it sometimes. My ONLY complaint about my Garmin is, if the weather is unusually cloudy, it can take FOREVER to locate the satellites. Sometimes, it just takes forever because I think it’s messing with me. Other than that, I think it’s definitely the way to go. You can also hook it up to your computer and transfer the data and get a big, entire picture of your work through their software. I haven’t done that but I have friends that LOVE it. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Friday reflections – my 2014 goals and how I’m doing | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

