Slipping on the ice & almost perfect brownies

Hello, hello!

So, did you get snowed in?

Snow FINALLY started falling at about 6pm on Tuesday. Seriously, I’d watched out the window pretty much all day.

I was really, really jealous of all the snow photos my friends were posting on Facebook and Instagram.

Woke up Wednesday morning to this beautiful sight. πŸ™‚

image

Can you tell I’ve missed snow?

And, we didn’t really have to shovel so that makes this even more perfect!

I took advantage of the colder temperatures and made some homemade chicken noodle soup on Tuesday night.

image

Om nom nom!

Last night, I made Paleomg.com’s Smoky Bacon Chili.

image

So stinkin’ delicious!

image

Max is a bacon stalker.

Max thought it smelled pretty good, too. πŸ™‚

So, I had a tempo run on my schedule for today – 1 mile easy, 5 miles @ 8:57, and 1 mile easy.

I was a little worried about the run because of the road conditions.

Seriously, 2 years without snow and all of a sudden I’m an apprehensive runner?!

I’ve run in worse conditions.

So, I bit the bullet and hit the road this morning.

So glad I did!

I stayed on neighborhood roads rather than heading up to the park because I didn’t know what I would be dealing with up there. Some of the roads were clear and some were still covered with packed snow and ice. Some spots were a combination of clear and patchy snow and ice. Those are the worst because some snow melted and then turned into black ice.

I only slipped once!

Thankfully, I was on my cool down and I didn’t fall. That would have been bad.

Here’s how my splits went:

Mile 1 – 9:01; Mile 2 – 8:52; Mile 3 – 8:38; Mile 4 – 8:41; Mile 5 – 8:48

Um, clearly I need to work on my pacing skills.

But, I’m stoked that I got out and was able to run. πŸ™‚

So, I’ve been working on developing my own recipe for brownies. Because brownies are awesome.

image

I’m thisclose to perfection.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to share the recipe soon.

Patience, grasshopper.

Talk to me: When you do tempo runs (not on a treadmill), do you manage to stay on pace the whole time or are you slightlyΒ dysfunctional like me? Any tips to share?

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

