Balancing work & fitness & life

Hello! Happy Wednesday!

It’s an extra special Wednesday over here! My sailor and I got married on this day 18 years ago!

image

Awww, weren’t we cute? πŸ˜‰ We look so young!

We don’t have anything specific planned but you can bet your boots we’re going to drink some excellent wine!

So, as you know, I’m back to work this week and I am totally loving my new job!

I’m in the “training” phase so my work hours are subject to change (maybe) in the future. Right now, I’m getting in between 6:30-6:45 am. That makes a morning tempo run or speedwork session a little difficult. Especially since that stupid gopher saw his stupid shadow and we have 6 more weeks of winter. Brrrr!

image

So, I’ve switched my running to after work. And that’s great! Except I’m really more of a morning runner. :/

I know, I know….. I need to stop complaining. But, it’s what my body is used to so switching it up is a really big change! So, I went for a run after work yesterday. Because it’s important to me – it’s part of who I am.

image

I was supposed to do speedwork (4×1000) but just felt like going for a run. It felt great to get out. Thank goodness all the snow got washed away by the rain.

Then, I did 100 burpees. Cuz, you know, I’m hardcore.

Have you been keeping up with your burpees? What number are you on? πŸ˜‰

Of course, I had to do my #CoreCommit challenge, too. So, that was 100 sit-ups.

Phew!

By the time I was done, I was totally wiped out!

Honestly, if I hadn’t meal prepped on Sunday, we probably would have eaten cereal for dinner. :/

Oh, fine. Who am I kidding? We totally had pancakes for dinner last night. And they were yummy!

But seriously, meal prep and planning is definitely going to have to become a habit if I stay on the early shift. I’ll be getting back into a CrossFit box soon and with running after work instead of before, I’m not going to be in the mood to create a meal on the fly. So, look for more Sunday meal prep inspiration from me!

Talk to me: How do you balance work, whether inside or outside the home, with your fitness goals & schedule?

It’s interesting to me that I’m encountering a difficult balance at this point. My kids are grown – one’s even out on her own! – and my life is pretty easy. I guess it’s just difficult because I’ve been working out before work for so long. I’d love to get out and run before I head to work but I leave the house at 6. And, I’m not real sure about the neighborhood in the wee hours of the morning. Lots of dogs out roaming on their own. I’m not trying to get bit by a dog. Been there, done that. :/

I know my “issues”are much simpler than what many people go through on a daily basis. Health & fitness is important and, all too often, it falls to the side at the expense of carting children around to various activities, family time, etc. I believe all that stuff is super important! I’m lucky that my kids are older. But, when they were younger and my sailor was deploying, that balancing act was really tough. It’s important to make time for YOU – even if it’s just 10 minutes of burpees or whatever. Park far away from the grocery store entrance so you get a walk in. Do something for YOU and your body. Your health will appreciate it. πŸ™‚

– jennifer

5 thoughts on “Balancing work & fitness & life

  1. Happy anniversary!!! Have a wonderful next 18 years and more!
    On the balance front – I workout after work at least 3 work days a week+weekend. We plan meals for the week on Saturdays, go grocery shopping on Sunday – and all the meals are planned around my workouts (I know, I married a great guy), i.e. the meal we choose to make on a certain week night depends on the time needed for cooking and whether or not I have a workout planned/we have kids’ activities/other plans that night.
    That’s why we do a lot of crock pot and quick-to-make meals πŸ™‚
    It’ll all workout, Jen. Most importantly – you have a job you love, family who loves you and cares about you, and a desire to make it work. And it will! Because you are hardcore πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, Lena! πŸ™‚

      It’ll take a little bit of adjustment for me to settle into a good routine but you’re absolutely right about family support. I’m very lucky to have such a terrific support system! I’m glad you have the same! πŸ™‚

      So, after thinking about it, my plan is crockpot meals on nights that I run and easy stuff on the other nights. With Sunday prep and a little help during the week, we shouldn’t have to rely on cereal as our main dish. Haha!

Leave a Reply

