Thoughts on The Biggest Loser

Hello!

Happy Friday!!

HAPPY FRIDAY

So, you may or may not have seen all the hoopla over the whole most recent Biggest Loser reveal.

I feel, as someone who blogs about fitness, albeit mostly my fitness trials & tribulations, that I should weigh in (pun completely intended) on the drama.

Except, I don’t watch The Biggest Loser.

So, other than knowing that it’s a weight loss contest and Jillian Michaels is a butt-kicking badass chick, I don’t know much.

I do know there are scales involved and physical challenges but I don’t know how much is taught about healthy eating, how to make healthy choices, and what kind of support system is there to help with making complete and total lifestyle changes. I also don’t know if counseling/medical attention is involved to determine if a contestant has an eating disorder or health issue that has caused them to gain weight.

And, I don’t know how much time the contestants have on their own before the finale but apparently, there is some.

That being said, again, this is a contest.

For money.

$250,000 worth of money.

And, some people play to WIN.

Seriously, $250,000.

Anyway, back to the weight issue.

Apparently, Rachel (the contestant that has made all the waves) lost 160 pounds. More than 60% of her bodyweight.

She went from 260 pounds down to 105. She’s 5′ 4″.

image

And she WON!

A weight loss CONTEST.

And, now, she’s getting flack for being TOO skinny.

So, before The Biggest Loser, (and I don’t know her Β but I do live in this society and I do know how rude people can be) she was getting flack for being too obese. And now, she’s getting flack for being too skinny.

Hm.

One rude extreme to the next.

I agree, she put herself out there in the public eye but that doesn’t give everyone the right to criticize her and tear her down for winning a WEIGHT LOSS CONTEST.

She stated in an interview, “I followed the advice and the support of the medical team on ‘The Biggest Loser’.”

Are we all doctors who can judge how healthy a person is based on their outward appearance?

No.

One question that is being asked is whether or not The Biggest Loser let her take it too far.

Well, if that’s the case, perhaps they should rethink their contest.

Especially if they aren’t providing the necessary medical treatment/advice and counseling for those who suffer with issues that affect their weight! (again, I don’t watch the show so I don’t know if they do or not.)

Or, come back to reality, and learn not to judge people by their outward appearances.

Β A lesson we could ALL learn.

Talk to me: Do you watch The Biggest Loser? What are your thoughts on this whole thing?

– jennifer

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on The Biggest Loser

  1. I watch it occasionally (when the wife swap is not on, hahaha). I haven’t seen this one, but I’ve heard all the buzz around it. I am with you 100% on this, Jen.
    After all, she is a big girl and can make her own decisions – contest or not. She should not be judged for it – it is her life and health and she has all the right to do whatever she wants with it.
    I do think she could have stopped and 140 lb though – she looks a little too skinny to me. But again – maybe that is HER comfortable weight that makes her feel and perform at her best.

  2. I think she looks great. She’ll gain some weight back as she builds muscle, especially if she continues with the fitness regimen. I wouldn’t expect her size to increase much, though.

    • I completely agree. I personally thought she looked great, too. You can see the happiness and self-confidence in her face. Besides, it’s difficult to focus on building strength and muscle when you’re focused solely on losing weight.

Leave a Reply

