The anatomy of my front squat

Hi there!

I have something to tell you.

I am SO. STINKIN’. SORE. from yesterday’s CrossFit workout.

leg day

I really wish I could have run BEFORE work this morning to loosen things up but, alas, it didn’t happen.

I’ve already expressed my feelings regarding my inability to run in the mornings. :/

Besides, it was raining. (like that’s ever stopped me)

I’m trying to get up and move around as much as I can because I’d like to loosen up a little before I run this afternoon.

Speed work.

After leg day.

Yeah, we’ll see how that goes.

after leg day

Anywho, I got to thinking about my front squats and how they were kind of wonky yesterday.

Granted, I haven’t done a front squat since at least October but still, my brain knows how to do them. Why did my body forget?

It’s not that I haven’t done a single squat since my last day at CrossFit before we moved.

I mean, really, I’ve done them!

In fact, I did too many during that playoff game when Peyton Manning shouted Omaha like 30 bazillion times.

Okay, fine, I didn’t have a weighted bar but a squat should be a squat, right?

Except, it isn’t.

Especially when weight is involved.

Squat-Dynamics

source

As you can see from the image, there’s a difference in weighted front and weighted back squats.

We were doing weighted front squats.

When you squat without weights, you don’t have to compensate for anything.

When you squat WITH weights, you have to compensate for that extra weight and WHERE you’re holding it.

(Note: I got that picture from the Tabata Times article about the importance of front squats.  You should read it.)

My problem was my knees were tracking inward (towards each other) on the down movement and I was putting more weight on the balls of my feet instead of my heels.

I was allowing the weight to dictate my movement and direction and it was pulling me forward.

I needed to engage my core more to keep my back straight and the bar over my thighs instead of pulling me forward so it’s over my knees.

Clearly, I’ve lost some strength in my time away from a box. And it was only a few months!

Thankfully, I still have some muscle memory and with Coach’s guidance, I slowed the movement down and thought each part through and was able to knock out some really solid ones.

Hopefully, my body will retrain itself quickly and I’ll improve and get back to where I was before. 🙂

Oh, and the really good news?

I can still do a pull up.

A. Pull-up.

Not more than 1 in a row.

And, I’m cool with that. 🙂

Talk to me: So, after leg day, how do you manage walking down stairs?

Um, I’ve been known to walk backwards or slide down on my butt. Sexy, right? 😉

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

