CrossFit Open workout 14.1

Hello!

Happy Friday!

My grandmother is 94 today. She’s pretty awesome. πŸ™‚

image

So, you may remember that I lost my mind and signed up for the CrossFit Games Open.

Yeah.

Well, the first workout (14.1) was announced last night.

It’s a 10 minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) of –

30 double unders

15 power snatches (75# for the men/55# for the women)

(The actual workout announcement comes at 21:55 and is followed by two amazeball athletes completing it.)

Um, yeah.

Double unders.

NOT really something I’m successful at.

BUT, that doesn’t mean I’m not going to give it a try!

Sinus infection and all, I’m heading to the box tonight for my first CrossFit Games Open workout.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Talk to me: Can you do double unders? Can you give me any tips?

– jennifer

3 thoughts on “CrossFit Open workout 14.1

  1. I love double unders. People ask me what my favorite movement is. And my answer is: double unders. I was one of those lucky people to pick up a rope and get it… okay- i will stop bragging. haha. Here is my list of tips.
    1. Pick a spot on the wall to stare at. Preferably a spot close to the ceiling to allow your chest to open up to help with breathing.
    2. I personally only hold my rope with my thumb, pointer finer, and middle finger at the bottom or end of the rope to ensure that I am really using my wrists. Some people hold the handle higher, but still practice only gripping it with those three fingers as well.
    3. Listen to your rope (literally). Know that sound of it moving twice under your feet. Its a beautiful thing.
    4. Keep your elbows close. Close… like a ring dip close.
    5. A lot of people at our gym do 1 single – 1 double – 1 single – 1 double. Although this is extra work, it allows you to feel what a double feels like. I wouldn’t recommend doing this all the time because then you will train yourself to do them like that instead of stringing them together.
    6. Breathe in through your nose, out your mouth. Seems so elementary- but it relaxes you
    7. Clinch your butt.
    8. If you don’t already- get a speed rope. It will hurt when you hit/whip yourself w/ it, but they are so much lighter, and they travel faster under your feet, allowing you not to jump as high, and use up less energy.
    I hope this helps! Good luck w/ 14.1. I am doing it tomorrow and have heard how 55# gets heavy pretty quick. Still pretty excited though.

    • Thanks! Those are some great tips! They actually really helped me out tonight – especially numbers 1 and 7. Seriously, I don’t know how clinching my butt helped but it did. Haha! When I remembered to do it, that is! πŸ™‚ Unfortunately, tonight’s workout wasn’t”official.” No camera or judge. I’ll be redoing it on Monday. But, my confidence level has increased substantially!

      Good luck tomorrow! You’ll kill it! As for the 55#…. you’ll be fine. Focus and breathe and let your hips help you. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Double Unders didn’t kick my butt! And, a birthday celebration. :) | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

