CrossFit Games Open 14.2 recap

Hello!

Holy cow, what a Monday!

That “spring forward” business was no joke this year.  I mean, I knew I was in for a world of hurt when I woke up at 5:30 on Sunday morning. And couldn’t go back to sleep. And that was with the clocks already adjusted! *sigh*

And, of course, I couldn’t sleep last night.

Which made for a very loooooong today.

But, I am not here to tell you about today. I will tell you about today some other time!

I’m here to tell you about Friday.

The day 14.2 kicked my butt.

And my biceps.

And my shoulders.

And my quads.

Here’s what the workout looked like.

image

No, that’s not me.

This is me attempting to overhead squat 65#.

20140307-DSC_0218

Oh wait. No. I couldn’t do it. Not even once.

I could BARELY do the 35# bar. Clearly.

I also struggled a little whole lot on the chest to bar pull ups.

20140307-DSC_0177

So, basically, my CrossFit Games are done. I couldn’t register a score for 14.2.

I’m a little disappointed but it’s okay. I’m new. I just need work. I’ll get there. 🙂

Coach had me modify down to goblet squats and banded pull ups and had me do four rounds.

Holy. Hard.

20140307-DSC_0312

20140307-DSC_0332

And, I finished. And I was TIRED.

20140307-DSC_0444

But I got war wounds!

20140307-DSC_0454

Okay, so those really hurt. But, I’m still celebrating the pain. I worked hard.

I may officially be out of the Games but I’m still going to do the rest of the workouts.

And, I’m going to work on hip flexibility and mobility. 🙂

Talk to me: How did you do in 14.2?

– jennifer

9 thoughts on “CrossFit Games Open 14.2 recap

  1. I am still amazed that the words “goblet squats” don’t make me go like “Huh? Goblet whats?” 🙂 Amazing how far I’ve come – a year ago I didn’t even know what those were. Now I do.
    It’s all about the journey. I am glad you’re enjoying it every step of the way!

  2. Pingback: Last week’s workouts and a new PR! | A Hungry Runner

  3. Pingback: Fence fail & (finally) my CrossFit Open recap | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

