Clean Eating Sloppy Joes

Hi there!

Happy Friday!! And 2nd day of Spring!

I was totally stoked that I was able to get outside and run after work yesterday.

image

The weather was beautiful!

But, I’ve heard rumors of a winter storm next week.

Bah, humbug.

So, I found this recipe for Turkey Sloppy Joes in my Clean Eating cookbook and decided to give them a try.

I had to make them on a night that Thing 2 was working because she’s weird and doesn’t like sloppy joes.

Fine.

More for me! πŸ™‚

I used ground turkey breast because, well, I couldn’t find any ground chicken breast and was waaaay to lazy to grind it up on my own.

Oh, and I don’t have a meat grinder. So, there’s that.

I also added some additional seasonings because I thought it was a little boring. Β My fabulous contributions to this recipe are the red pepper flakes and the salt and pepper.

Yes, I know that I used low-sodium and “no-salt-added” products. Don’t judge me. I’m controlling – right down to the salt in a recipe.

Make it without the red pepper, salt and pepper and taste and you decide if you need to adjust your seasonings. Then, you can thank me when you realize I’m right. πŸ™‚

I served it with roasted sweet potato wedges because sweet potatoes are the bomb dot com.

image

Clean Eating Sloppy Joes
serves 6

1 pound ground turkey (or chicken) breast
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 1/2 cups no-salt-added tomato-vegetable juice (aka V8 – I used spicy!)
1 (6 ounce) jar of no-salt-added tomato paste
1/2 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels (thawed, if frozen)
2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
2 teaspoons chile powder (you pick the heat)
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1/4-1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Heat a large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat. Add turkey (or chicken), onion, and bell pepper and cook, breaking up the turkey with a wooden spoon, until no longer pink, about 4 minutes. Stir in V8, tomato paste corn, vinegar, chile powder, and mustard; bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until thickened, about 5 minutes.

2. Put turkey mixture on a whole wheat bun or on top of a baked potato or a sweet potato or mashed potatoes or whatever you want and GOBBLE IT DOWN!

image

Leftovers for lunch!

Talk to me: How do you feel about sloppy joes? Do you prefer sweet potatoes or regular potatoes? Why is the sky blue? (tee hee)

– jennifer

2 thoughts on “Clean Eating Sloppy Joes

  1. I’ve never tried these….Don’t judge me, I’m a foreigner in this land of Sloppy Joes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I love potatoes (both regular and sweet), especially if they are baked. Will have to try this recipe! Thanks for sharing, Jen!

    • Certainly not judging! This recipe is pretty tasty – messy, but tasty. πŸ˜‰ And I love both, too but I could seriously eat a sweet potato every day. Yum!

Leave a Reply

