Wine Wednesday – 2012 Kunde Chardonnay

Hello, hello!

Happy Wine Wednesday!

rule 2

Wine Wednesday is especially fabulous when it follows Terrible Tuesday.

Gah, yesterday was plain awful.

Except for CrossFit. CrossFit was awesome.

But, I’m not here to talk about CrossFit right now. (But, it really was awesome!)

Anyway, Wine Wednesday > Terrible Tuesday.

hug in a glass

Okay, so it seems that my wine posts have been pretty awesome one-sided. Clearly, I love red wine.

So, to show the love to the green grape, this week’s wine is a lovely Chardonnay from Sonoma Valley.

image

 

I was able to snag this baby WELL under my self-imposed grocery store wine budget of $20! #winning

image

 

So, I should first tell you that I am VERY particular about my white wines, chardonnays especially.

Chardonnays usually have one of two flavor profiles – dry and all green apple puckery or smooth, oaky and buttery (or butterscotchy, which isn’t really a word but I hereby deem it to be one. Webster’s, get on it!).

The green apple puckery wines are usually stainless steel barrel fermented (hence the fruit) and the oaky ones are, wait for it, oak barrel fermented; oak being what adds the butterscotchiness to it.

I love me a good oaky chardonnay!

I’m extraordinarily a little picky about my stainless barreled chardonnays. I’m not the biggest fan of a tart green apple unless it’s covered in almond or peanut butter. Or a pie crust, thankyouverymuch.

So, I always tread carefully where stainless barreled chardonnays are concerned. If I can taste it first, that usually makes me pretty happy. But, sometimes, you just have to bite the bullet and take a chance. And, $10 off really made that chance a little easier to take.

image

 The really excellent thing I learned about this wine is it’s a combination of oak barrel and stainless fermenting!

BRILLIANT!

It’s a lovely marrying of the two flavors and I was a HUGE fan.

There was a little of everything in there!

image

 

Toasty, oaky vanilla yumminess and some bright fresh fruit – pineapple and melon. All I could say was More Please!

We paired it with some barbecued chicken wings and roasted potato wedges.

You could pair it with chicken or seafood dishes or pastas with a cream sauce.

If you really wanted to, you most certainly could pair it with a steak or a pork chop and who cares what people think? Drink what you like!

 

I was definitely responsible for drinking all my share of this wine. 🙂

Talk to me: Red or white? Tomato or cream sauce?

– jennifer

One thought on “Wine Wednesday – 2012 Kunde Chardonnay

  1. Pingback: Wine Wednesday – Thanksgiving wine recommendations | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

