Jumping high in tall socks :)

Hello, hello!

Happy Thursday before a 3-day weekend!!

long weekend

So, I’m in full swing at my new CrossFit box and let me tell you what, I am totally LOVING it there.

Last night, we started with some skill work – I worked on overhead squats with a 15 pound bar, air squats, stretched my hip flexors, and worked on my handstand holds.

I held one for about 10 seconds!!!

Then, for the WOD, we did a 2k row for time.

We pulled the rowers outside because it was beautiful. Man, I wish I’d taken a picture!

I finished in 8:53.

I’m meh about my time. I know I can do better.

Then, we worked on max height box jumps *3 attempts.

I got to 28″!!!!

10371589_302947173215423_1466803983148570502_n

It had to be the socks. πŸ˜‰

photo credit: Spikes Consulting, LLC

Remember back when I was injured and couldn’t jump?

Remember how excited I was when I jumped 24″ for the first time?

Well, last night I actually pulled off 3 jumps at 28″!

I failed at 30″ because my brain got the better of me but, next time, I’ve got it. πŸ™‚

Oh, and to top it all off, these box jumps came one day after this workout….

image

…in which I did all 30 jumps at 24″.

Whoop!!!

Tonight, we do “Helen” – 3 rounds of 400m run, 21 kettlebell swings, 12 pull-ups.

I’m really looking forward to it! Especially the running part.

I haven’t been out for a run (besides warm-ups) since Flying Pig.

We’ll incorporate running into my training plan starting next month. πŸ™‚

Talk to me: Do you have any big plans for the long weekend? Are you going to any barbecues? Is your box doing “Murph” on Saturday or Monday?

We’re doing ours on Saturday. My sailor has agreed to come take some pictures! πŸ™‚

– jennifer

One thought on “Jumping high in tall socks :)

Leave a Reply

