The busiest week ever – workout recap

Hello!

I’m back! I didn’t fall off the face of the earth!

Did you miss me? πŸ™‚

Last week was THE. BUSIEST.WEEK.

I had a training class for work, I bumped up my workout schedule a little, and Thing 2 graduated from high school!

image

Seriously, I needed to come back to work just for the break! Ha!

So, my 50k training plan officially starts next week Β (!) and I bumped up my workouts a little to help get me ready.

Coach has built me a training plan that is a hybrid blend of CrossFit Endurance and the principles in Run Less, Run Faster (which is where I had pulled my BQ training plan from back before I got injured and had to stop).

At least 2 days a week will be doubles – running in the morning (speed work and tempo runs) and CrossFit (strength only on those days, no bodyweight met cons) in the afternoon.

Saturdays will be my long runs. *Note to self, it’s time to buy a camelbak!

Rest days are programmed in – Sundays and quite a few Fridays depending on Saturday’s mileage.

Because I’ve only been focusing on the CrossFit and haven’t really been running, I figured it was probably a good time to start throwing the running back into my schedule and I tossed in a couple of doubles since my schedule with the class actually permitted it!

Monday

I didn’t make CrossFit in the afternoon because I wasn’t sure how long the class was going to go. So, I planned a workout out home based on the CrossFit Endurance workout for that day – kettlebell swings and box jumps.

Well, I don’t have kettlebells at home so I did dumbbell swings instead.

4 rounds of 25 dumbell swings (35#) and 25 box jumps (20″).

Holy. Cow.

I finished in 13:00.

Tuesday

I got up to get a short, early morning run in before class. It was awesome! I forgot how much I loved early morning running – the peace, the quiet, the sounds of the birds waking up…. ahhh…

image

 

Then, after class, I headed out to CrossFit where I got to do MORE kettlebell swings and box jumps with some rope climbs thrown in for good measure.

Oh yes.

20 minute AMRAP of 3 rope climbs (15′), 15 kb swings (35#) and 15 box jumps (20″).

I was able to get the first set of 15′ rope climbs accomplished without too much of an issue but the others? Not so much. I went at least halfway on all of them, tried to go higher if I could.

I can’t remember how many rounds I finished – 3? Maybe 4?

Holy sore hands and rope burn!

Wednesday

Wednesday morning was another run – just under 3.5 miles at about a 9:00 minute pace (no picture, sorry).

Then, strength day at CrossFit!

5-5-5-5-5 Back Squats!

Then Handstand holds on the wall (3 attempts).

I did 85-95-105-115-125. And then I tried 135 and got one rep. PR!

For the handstand holds, we all started at the same time and we got a minute rest after the last person dropped before we started the next one. I wasn’t sure how this was going to go because I’d only held for 10 seconds before.

My first one was 35 seconds!! The second one was about 30 seconds and the third was 28 seconds. Whoop!

Thursday

No running this morning as I was back at work trying to catch up on the 3 days I’d missed.

PM CrossFit was 5 rounds of running, wallballs, and ground to overhead.

It was basically 5 rounds (4 minutes each) of a 400m run, 15 wallballs (14#) and 5 ground to overhead (I did 65#).

If you went over the 4 minutes, it became a 20 minute AMRAP.

I got 3 rounds completed within the 4 minute marker but I didn’t make it on round 4. I finished out with a complete 4 rounds and the 5th round run with 4 seconds to spare. Not enough time to even get one wallball.

Wow. What a workout!

Friday

RUNNING!

I took the day off of work so I could get things ready for the graduation. My folks were coming down and there was TONS to be done – including knock out a morning run. πŸ™‚

image

 

I’ll be honest. My legs were BEAT! I certainly wasn’t trying to go fast but I had thought I might go faster. Oh well. I gotterdun and that’s all that matters. πŸ™‚

Saturday and Sunday were rest days – if you want to call running around like a chicken with my head cut off, cooking all day, entertaining, and going to graduation “resting.” πŸ™‚

All worth it.

I’m still working on switching my hours around at work so I’m not sure about the running/doubles this week. I need to get that figured out ASAP because it’s all going down next Monday!

Talk to me: How was your week? How was your weekend? Did you celebrate Father’s Day with family? Did you barbecue?

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

