Can you just “like” running?

Hi there!

Happy Thursday!

Happy-kitten

source

I had a glorious tempo run this morning!

1 mile warm up, 5 miles at 8:30 pace, and then my cool down.

image

I love when I nail the pace on my tempo runs – such a confidence booster!

And you just can’t beat the good old “runner’s high.” #endorphins

runnershigh

Have you ever noticed that, when it comes to running, there really isn’t any sort of middle ground of emotion for people?

I mean, you either love it or you hate it.

I was talking to some friends at CrossFit last night (and don’t EVEN get me started on how some CrossFit folks feel about running!) about some upcoming CrossFit events and why I wasn’t participating. I have some really big long runs coming up in the next few weeks and I have to focus on the mileage. That 50k ain’t gonna run itself!

*sidebar* – I had the opportunity to meet Jeff Galloway at FitBloggin’ and was talking with him about training for my first ultra. He asked what kind of training plan I was following and I told him about the hybrid CrossFit Endurance/Run Less Run Faster plan Coach had built for me. His first response? He told me to be careful because he’s heard of a lot of people getting injured doing CrossFit. Not, “sounds like you’re in good hands,” or “wow, that’s an aggressive training plan,” or “yeah, I like the training plans in Run Less Run Faster.”  I was a little disappointed in him. I’m pretty sure he doesn’t really know anybody who does CrossFit because he would know that wasn’t true. That the negative publicity gets more airtime than the positive. I mean, it’s true, people do get hurt but that’s usually because they’re not scaling appropriately or aren’t being trained properly by a coach who is worth his/her salt.  Rhabdo is not just a CrossFit problem. And besides, people get hurt running, too! All the time! I would like to state though, because I still respect him majorly as a runner, before I started at this new box, I had spoken to one of the coaches at my previous box (the one that closed out of the blue) about running and CrossFit Endurance and he basically spat all over running, touted it as the worst thing ever, etc.  Whatever. I like my happy blend. 🙂 *okay, I’m done*

Anyway, back to the convo with my friends, I mentioned to one (who has done a half-marathon, I might add) that I had a 17-miler on the schedule for this weekend.  I think the conversation went a little like this,

“I’ve got 17 on Saturday. You should come run with me!”

“MILES?!?!”

And that was from a couple of other people standing at the table where we were! 😉

Then I hear, “I ran 8 miles once. Only because I was tricked. I was told it was a 2-3 mile course, but, nope. Wasn’t.”

And then the general consensus was that everybody hates running (except me, of course). Even the one who ran a half marathon. On purpose!

I love the responses I get at work when people ask why I’m working later than normal. I tell them, “I ran this morning so I came in a little later.”

What do they say?

“On purpose?!?!” or “Was someone chasing you?!?” or even just plain old, “Why?”

runningcartoon

source

Even the runners that just do it for the fitness despise it.

How can that be? How can they not experience that runner’s high, that glorious moment where the heavens open up and shine their light down upon you and make you feel invincible? How can they not love the freedom and the peace and the joy that comes from covering miles lost in thought or listening to the sounds of nature?

running makes me feel

Is it because running is considered “punishment” in other sports?

I think that’s so unfair. I mean, really. Burpees are SO much like punishment than running.

But seriously, have you ever met anyone who didn’t have a strong opinion about it? Anyone ever say to you, “oh,  hey, yeah, running’s cool. It’s not my favorite but I don’t hate it.”

Nope. Probably not. Because that person doesn’t exist.

Talk to me: How do you feel about running? If you’re a runner, what kind of responses do you get to any sort of running statement you make? Have you ever met someone who just “liked” running? Take his/her picture – I’m pretty sure he/she is an enigma!

– jennifer

2 thoughts on “Can you just “like” running?

  1. Ha! I’m half-way through Couch25K and I am just now starting to quasi enjoy running. I still don’t get it but I’m giving it a try and I am starting to truly enjoy it. The few people I have talked to about it think I’m crazy. I don’t blame them. 😜

  2. I think that if you are not a runner, then the best you can usually do is tolerate the work of running. At that point though, it is usually just one of many cardio activities to choose from. If you’re a runner, there is no other choice. At least no good one.

Leave a Reply

