Thursday Thoughts – I am what I am

Hello, hello!

So, I totally dreamed about running last week.

I’ve never done that before.

Not even once.

I mean, I’ve had those nightmares where I’m trying to run but it’s like I’m slogging through the thickest mud ever and I can barely move but that’s not the same thing.

This was joyous and free and FUN!

wpid-absolutejoy.jpg

I guess I’ve solved my potential identity crisis – I am DEFINITELY a runner!

(seriously, like I didn’t REALLY know that down deep inside. sheesh.) 😉

In fact, the desire for me to get out the door is pretty overwhelming these days.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to.  The doc says I need to wait and I’m going to wait.

Cookie_monster_impatient

I might even add a couple of extra weeks to the wait just to be safe.

That’s how important it is to me.

I don’t want to run on my foot until it’s ready to be run on.

But, boy oh boy, do I want to run!

I’ve even, and don’t everyone start yelling at me at once, started thinking about what 50k I might want to train for.

*ducks head*

Stop throwing things!  I’m not going to run until I can and then I’ll take it slow! I’m not talking about running a 50k in a couple of months from now.

Maybe Springtime – are there any 50ks (boy, that word looks weird but I refuse to make it ‘s because it’s most definitely not possessive!) in the Spring or are those mostly Fall races?  I’ll have to research! I definitely want to run the one that I can’t next month.

I just can’t imagine my life without running.

It’s been such a big part!

It’s given me so much and I love being outside and seeing the world (or my cute little town, even though there are bears). 🙂

wpid-20140719_055953.jpg

wpid-20140705_062427.jpg

bear2

And, I’m definitely going to be doing a CrossFit Endurance training plan once I start back up.

I really enjoy the blend of the two sports.

10004075_276728889170585_731831594_n

My running definitely benefits from CrossFit and my CrossFit workouts benefit from my running – hello, endurance! 🙂

I feel a little bit like I have a new lease on life, as silly as that may seem, and I cannot wait (but, I will. patiently, even.) to get back out the door with my running shoes on.

wpid-20140804_060949.jpg

Talk to me: Do you dream about the sport you love? Are you a good patient? Are you patient?

– jennifer

4 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts – I am what I am

  1. I’m glad you’re seeing the light…but still not sure about Crossfit. I still think that working at the intensity that you do during your crossfit workouts will make it hard to recover properly for/from your running workouts. I think that the intensity is the key more than the actual activities. You’re not recovering. Just my thoughts. I still want to see you finish your first 50k!

  2. Pingback: Friday reflections – my 2014 goals and how I’m doing | A Hungry Runner

  3. I’ve had a few dreams about running since being injured. One was about my favourite trail, it looks down on Wellington City and across the harbour, You run through the bush, the sun is hot, and the air is muggy with the Wellington wind cutting through and making it just the right amount of cool. The track is dusty and you have to dance between the rocks as you wind down the path. In the dream I was racing down it, I can’t wait for that to be a reality!

    • That sounds amazing! I would probably dream about that too if I had something like that to run on. Stay patient and let yourself heal and the dream will be reality before you know it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

