Weekend things: all dressed up and having fun!

Hello!

Happy Monday!

(wait, what?)

Hope you had a great weekend!

We did – which is why I regret to inform you that I shall not be sharing food prep with you today.

Because I didn’t do any.

In fact, I’m lucky I actually got dinner made yesterday rather than relying on take-out.

(psst…it was so easy, even a slightly hung over, definitely exhausted person could do it. πŸ™‚ Β Crockpot Indian Chicken and Chickpeas – delicious!)

Anywho, Saturday was the Khaki Ball – the annual celebration of the new Chief Petty Officers. It’s called the Khaki Ball because, in the Navy, when you go from E-6 to E-7 (Chief Petty Officer), you change uniforms and wear khakis. It’s a pretty big deal in a sailor’s career (I don’t think it’s ASΒ big a deal in the other services but it’s still impressive, no matter how you look at it) and definitely worth celebrating. Not everyone can become a Chief.

It’s not ‘ball gown’ formal but it is a cocktail affair so I broke out my LBD.

(honestly, it’s the only one of my cocktail dresses that still fits. Darn that CrossFit and my back muscles!) πŸ˜‰

image

My sailor was a little slow with getting me the location/hotel information so we were unable to secure a room where the Ball was held in Portsmouth.

So, we stayed at a hotel on the Norfolk side of the water.

We were going to take the ferry across the water but there was a water taxi sitting there (seriously, a water taxi!) and we decided to see how much he charged. We had a bit of time to wait for the ferry and there were quite a few people who were standing around the ferry stop.

Well, that man took one look at us and said he wouldn’t charge us a thing to take us across the water. No kidding!

Turns out he was retired military and he was more than happy to give a fellow servicemember, and his gussied up wife, a ride. πŸ™‚

And it was a really nice ride.

(And, in case you didn’t know, that’s a really big deal for me to say. I get seasick just THINKING about a boat. Seriously, swings can do me in – don’t even THINK about sticking me on a merry-go-round. Barf city.)

image

image

image

Of course, we couldn’t just ride without paying so we tipped him quite well for his services.

(And no, it wasn’t $.20.)

We spent some of the cocktail/social hour before the actual ceremony started outside watching the water traffic. Β It was such a niceΒ evening even though it was overcast.

image

thought this tree was pretty interesting, all peel-y bark and stuff.

image

image

There was lots of food and drink and fun!

image

There was camaraderie and love.

image

There was definitely some dancing. πŸ™‚

image

But first, let me take a selfie.

image

The next morning, weΒ found a cute little (and very busy!) diner about a quarter of a mile from the hotel.

Took a bit for breakfast to make it to our table but when it did, it was pretty darn delicious!

I couldn’t decide if I wanted pancakes or not and was still thinking when she came to take our order. So, I decided on the spinach and feta egg white omelet with home fries and wheat toast. Had to have some bacon, too!

image

om nom nom!

We got home around noon, unpacked, got dinner in the crockpot, and settled in for some football.

football

I’ll be honest. I didn’t make it past 8pm. #toooldforpartying

Talk to me: pancakes, french toast, or waffles? bacon or sausage?

– jennifer

6 thoughts on “Weekend things: all dressed up and having fun!

  1. Yay!!! So glad you like the recipe! I havent made it in awhile… I might have to pull it out again myself! And congrats to your sailor – that’s an awesomr accomplishment!!

    Also, waffles and bacon. Together.

  2. Pingback: Friday reflections – my 2014 goals and how I’m doing | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

